Paleo diets, in which one eats how early hominids (human ancestors) did, are becoming increasingly popular. Proponents claim our bodies evolved to eat these types of food, especially bone broth, a soup made by cooking animal bones for several hours. They believe it has many health-promoting nutrients, such as cartilage, which can heal our joints, and chondroitin, which promotes nerve regeneration. Skeptics point out that ingested cartilage can’t replenish cartilage in your knees or elbows and ingested chondroitin doesn’t make our brains any healthier. Yet, there is strong anecdotal evidence that people who consume bone broth have fewer metabolic and inflammatory diseases than those who don’t. Therefore, ancient humans knew something about our physiology that we don’t, and that by emulating the way they ate, we can cure many chronic illnesses.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The following argument that emulating the way early humans ate may cure many chronic disease is flawed for numerous reasons. Primarily, the argument is based on the unwarranted assumption that correlation equals casuation rendering its main argument that eating foods out paletoithic ancestors did will protects against chronic diseases invalid.

The crux of the arugment is based on the fallacy that having fewer diseased is directly caused by eating bone broth. The aurgment does not take into considerations the variety of variables that could confound this relationship such as the amount of excersise people who eat bone broth get, their genetic predispostion for developing metabolic diseases, and what thier diet as a whole consists of. One can not make the conclusion that eating more bone broth, and therefore eating other foods our ancestors ate, will protect against these diseases without examining other factors that may contribute to this relaitonship. Additionally, the arugument states that this was based on anecdotal evidence. Anecdotes is not the same as data collected through scietifically rigourous processess. To esablish bone broth and other paleotlithic food's ability to cure against chronic dieases, scientific experiements must be conducted in large groups of diverse subjects, from all over the world, controlling for potentially relevant variables.

The argument also attempts to extrapolate a lower prevalnce of matabolic and infammatory diseases to a cure for said diseases. Even if these foods did protect against diseases such as diabetes or cancer, that does not necessarily mean they will cure them once someone develops them. For example, it is well known that smoking creates more inflammation in the body, which severely increased one's chances of developing cancer. So it can be deduced that not smoking lowers one's chances of developing cancer. However, once cancer has already developed in a smoker's body, smoking cessation would not cure them. This can be applied to the paleo argument for curing metabloic dieases.

In conclusion, this arugment is invalid because it relies on too many logical fallacies, such as depending on anecdotal evidence and assuming that correlation equals causation.