A pet food company recalled 4 million pounds of pet food in response to complaints that pets that had consumed the food experienced vomiting, lethargy, and other signs of illness. After the recall, the pet food company tested samples from the recalled foo

This argument shows that the company denies their role in the recent event where pets have gotten ill after eating the pet food provided by pet company. Though the company has already tested the food samples and do not want to spend more time on this issue, I believe that company should be concerned about their reputation in market and the safety of their consumers. In order to do so, I think more detailed measures must be placed before closing the investigation.

Firstly, the location. This might be the key to find out that what is the real cause of food illness in pets. If the call received from pet owners are mostly from a certain district or area then there are chances of food contamination from other sources. For example; if a large delivery of pet food to a particular district got delivered in unexpected circumstances where food might be rotten or gone bad inside the packing. Though these events are generally noticable but sometimes shoppers might overlook the packing and buy the product. Water can be a big reason of contamination. So company should find out if there are cases of food-poising in human also in that area. If so this could lead to find out the more suitable reasons.

Secondly, the time period of complaints. If mostly calls came at the same time period then there is a reason that some batch of pet food might be contaminated. However, if the complaints vary among different time period then other reasons might be required to justify that correct reason of pet-illness.

Third, company should backtrack all the call received for pet-illness case and ask more questions to the pet owners about the daily schedule of their pet. There might be chances that the pet was already ill before eating the food or pets have eaten something else after which they fall ill. Once we know the accurate information about this incident, we can conclude further about the real reason.

Company should also conduct a audit from reputable firm, this can help the pet company to regain the lost reputation in their customers. This can also states that company itself is very serious for such concerns and doing everything to keep safe their consumers. In the end, I would say company should try find join every piece if info.