"The population on Balmer Island increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island plans to limit the number of mopeds rented by each of the island's six moped rental companies from 50 per day to 30 per day during the summer season. Last year, the neighboring island of Torseau enforced similar limits on moped rentals and saw a 50 percent reduction in moped accidents. We predict that putting these limits into effect on Balmer Island will result in the same reduction in moped accidents."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

In the letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette, the author of the letter suggests limiting the number of mopeds which a company can rent out as a way to reduce the number accidents with pedestrians. This is based on the fact that such a restriction led to reduced accidents in the neighboring Seaville island. However, while such a limit might be effective, the argument rests on several unfounded assumptions that if not addressed significantly weaken its persuasiveness. Thus, the following three questions needs to be addressed to decide whether the recommendation will have the predicted result.

First, are the situations in Balmer island similar to those of Seaville? It could be that Seaville has narrow, ill-maintained roads without footpaths which drastically increases the risk of moped-pedestrian accidents. Balmer island, on the other hand, might have wide roads with footpaths. It is also possible that Seaville has a good traffic control system which Balmer lacks. If either of the two possibilities are true, the parallels drawn between the two islands might not hold and the author's argument might not reduce accidents.

Next, are there restrictions in place to limit the number of moped rental companies? If not, new companies will start opening up shop to meet the demand gap created by per-company limit. If this happens, the total number of mopeds on the roads of Balmer island might remain the same, or even increase, leading to a greater risk of accidents. Tourists might also start using other more dangerous forms of transport in absence of sufficent mopeds. Again, if either holds, the number of accidents might not decrease.

Finally, do majority of the accidents in Balmer island happen during the summer season? It is possible that it rains heavily during the monsoon and the wet roads and low visibility are the leading causes for accidents. If this is true, the reduction of mopeds rented during summmer is unlikely to have a large effect to the number of accidents taking place.

In conclusion, the recommendation as it stands now rests on several assumptions which need to addressed in order to fully evaluate the effect it will have. Answering the above questions will give authorities a clearer picture of the situation and help them choose measures to reduce accidents.