The president of Grove College has recommended that the college abandon its century-old tradition of all-female education and begin admitting men. Pointing to other all-female colleges that experienced an increase in applications after adopting coeducatio

In this statement, there is a debate about whether the Grove College should admitt men between the president of the college and the director of the alumnae association. As the director mainly considers that there will be an increase in applications and enrollment in that he tells us other all-female colleges experinced the increase, while the director asserts that this change will be harmful to the core merit of this college because all-female status was the primary reason of the students enrolled to this college. I fully comprehend both of them who make efforts to develop the Grove College, while there are some loopholes in their evidence. So let's reexamine them carefully.

To begin with, let's delve into the president's suggestion. As he tells us other all-female colleges expericned the increasing enrollment after admitting men, there is no obvious relavence could connect the Grove College to the others. In that the author does not tell us the locations of the other colleges as well as the number of students which means the scales of them. They would be totally differnet inevery area. Moreover, the vague definition of increase in applications after adopting coeducation is not compelling in that we do not now how much it increased the enrollment. Maybe there was a miniscule increasing which could not support the president's suggestion.

On the other hand, the director's evidence is not convicing, either. Given that the director shows us the annual surveys which involved the incoming students, this survey is not useful to prove the director's argument. In that it just invstigated the student who have been enrolled by this college, the reason that they choose this place is because of the all-female status could be the primary one while no other students' opinons were surveyed, who intended to go to this school or did not like this place at all. Secondly, when talks about the female-status, the survey of the alumnae also strongly favored keeping the collede all female. This survey is comprehensible as the conception of these graduates share the same mostly, while it could not prove the Grove College should stay on the status presently, given there is some all-female colleges made changes, the reason is still undiscovered.

In my opinion, the two leader fail to grasp the keypoint of this statement. Whether the Grove College should admitt men should not depend on the unconvincing evidence by the two leaders. In order to prove the neccesstiy of coeducation, they should make a exhaustive survey among different people besides the students enrolled to find out whether the people accept this change. In additon, they should make a precise rank among all the colleges and all-female colleges to find out wheher the status of all-female is their merit or not.