Read the argument and the instructions that follow it, and then make any notes that will help you plan your response. Begin typing your response in the box at the bottom of the screen.

The following appeared in an Excelsior Company memorandum.

The Excelsior Company plans to introduce its own brand of coffee. Since coffee is an expensive food item, and since there are already many established brands of coffee, the best way to gain customers for the Excelsior brand is to do what Superior, the leading coffee company, did when it introduced the newest brand in its line of coffees: conduct a temporary sales promotion that offers free samples, price reductions, and discount coupons for the new brand.

Discuss how well reasoned you find this argument. In your discussion be sure to analyze the line of reasoning and the use of evidence in the argument. For example, you may need to consider what questionable assumptions underlie the thinking and what alternative explanations or counterexamples might weaken the conclusion. You can also discuss what sort of evidence would strengthen or refute the argument, what changes in the argument would make it more logically sound, and what, if anything, would help you better evaluate its conclusion.

The argument that a temporary sales promotion is the best way to set up a new brand and to gain customers for the The Excelsior Company omits some important concerns that must be addressed to substantiate the argument. The argument states that this sales promotion worked for Superior, the leading coffee company, when it introduced the newest brand in its line of coffees using the same strategy. This alone does not constitute a logical argument in favor of the same strategy that it will work every time and for every company, and it certainly does not provide support or proof for the main argument.

Most conspicuously, the argument does not address the reason behind what lead to the success of the Superior's sales promotion strategy? The argument does not establish the missing link as to why the same strategy will work for The Excelsior Company? On top of it calling this strategy "the best way" to gain customers is stretching it too far. One needs to answer few questions before drawing such a extreme conclusion.

Firslty, are the products offered by the two companies of same quality? We all know that when it comes to edible products, specially beverages, quality, taste and aroma play a crucial role in the success of the a product like coffee. Surprisingly the argument is completely silent on such a crucial parameter which would determine the success or failure of the new brand. On the one hand the argument is all about the strategy which needs to be adopted but compeletely silent on what could contribute to the success of such a strategy.

Secondly, it is mentioned that the new strategy will be implemented by giving free samples, price reductions, and discount coupons for the new brand. Before we talk of discounts, it needs to be clarified as to at what price is the new brand going to be launched for the The Excelsior Company? What are the setup and operating costs? how long does the company plan to offer such discounts? Will it be financially viable for the company to offer such price reductions and offering free samples?

Third but not the last, it is mentioned that there are already many established brands in the industry. How can one be so sure that this strategy will work for the company? Moreover, what if competitors follow the same suit and does not allow the new entrant in the market to establish itself. Hence one needs to be very careful while adopting a brand establisment strategy keeping in mind how the competitors would react to such a sales promotion and whether or not the company is able to counter the same using some sound planning and execution.

Finally, the company should study other factors which may have contributed to the success of the "Superior's new brand". However, the argument can be strengthened if it states what would happen in the event that aforesaid sales promotion strategy does not work for The Excelsior Company and it could overcome difficulties while executing this strategy.

Because the argument leaves out several key issues, it is not sound or persuasive. If it included the items discussed above instead of solely explaining that the sales promotion strategy is the best way to gain customers, the argument would have been more thorough and convincing.