“In a recent citywide poll, 15 percent more residents said that they watch television programs about the visual arts

than was the case in a poll conducted fi ve years ago. During these past fi ve years, the number of people visiting

our city’s art museums has increased by a similar percentage. Since the corporate funding that supports public

television, where most of the visual arts programs appear, is now being threatened with severe cuts, we can expect

that attendance at our city’s art museums will also start to decrease. Thus some of the city’s funds for supporting

the arts should be reallocated to public television.”

The presented argument claims that the city should reallocate a portion of its art funding to support public television. This claim is based on the flawed logic that, because art television viewership and museum attendance rates have increased historically at similar rates, a decrease in the availability of art television will result in a decrease in museum attendance. The argument is not sound, however, because the correlation between television viewership and museum attendance does not necessarily prove causation. It likely depends on many other factors.

Firstly, the author readily assumes that a decline in corporate funding for public television will result in decreased viewership of art television. In this assumption, the author fails to consider that corporations may decide to cut funding to other categories of public television and leave constant their contributions to the art category. Furthermore, even if the corporations were to slash art-specific funding, there is no guarantee that an alternative provider of funding, be it other corporations or advertising, would not be found.

Secondly, the argument assumes that the rise in viewership of art television caused the simultaneous rise in museum attendance. One must remember, however, that correlation does not prove causation and that there were likely other factors at play in these two trends. For example, it is possible that broader sentiment towards art has improved and that this change in sentiment fueled growth in both television viewership and museum attendance. It is also possible that the increase in museum attendance had no relationship whatsoever with television and was instead simply caused by the city procuring higher-quality exhibits.

Finally, the author did not include any information about the broader trends surrounding the situation being discussed. In evaluating the cause of the rise in art television viewership, it would be helpful to know if aggregate television viewership also expanded over the last five years or if the gains were specific to art television. It would be similarly helpful to understand if attendance at all museums increased or if art museums were the only beneficiaries over the last five years.

In conclusion, the argument is flawed for the above-mentioned reasons and is therefore unconvincing. It could be considerably strengthened if the author had mentioned all of the relevant facts such as trends in aggregate television viewership and museum attendance. In not considering alternative explanations for the discussed events, the argument relies upon several unsubstantiated assumptions. Without additional information, the argument remains open to debate.