A recent sales study indicates that consumption of seafood dishes in Bay City restaurants has increased by 30 percent during the past five years. Yet there are no currently operating city restaurants whose specialty is seafood. Moreover, the majority of families in Bay City are two-income families, and a nationwide study has shown that such families eat significantly fewer home-cooked meals than they did a decade ago but at the same time express more concern about healthful eating. Therefore, the new Captain Seafood restaurant that specializes in seafood should be quite popular and profitable.

The writer of argument concludes that the new Captain Seafood restaurant will be famous and profitable. However, this conclusion cannot be accepted as it is in that it rests on the lists of assumptions all of which can be challenged in one way or another.

The first problem with the argument is that the writer assumes that by 30 percent increment in the seafood consumption in the Bay City restaurants mean that people in the last five years change their appetite and incline to use the seafood. However, there is no any lucid and cogent data to support this assumption. Maybe in the past five years, Bay City appeals more tourists whose tastes are majorly shaped based on the sea foods. Consequently, the new tourists in Bay City lead to the enhancement of seafood utilization. Or perhaps, these 30 percent increment is related to the scanty of options in the food menus. Maybe the consumers cannot fit their appetite and choose the seafood as the last option to have some nutrition. Either scenario provides a possible explanation about this increment beyond the alternation of people's taste and consumptions.

Another problem with the argument is that the writer based upon the current families' structures and a nationwide research concludes that the dwellers of Big City are willing to dine at outdoor instead of the cooking by themselves, and they are more inclined to possess a healthy food style. However, as it mentioned this survey is a nationwide survey and covers a holistic; however, vague outcomes. Maybe in the study, the case-study is allocated to a specific region, which based upon the society's hectic lifestyle the families prefer to dine at the restaurants and this conclusion extended to all nations. Or perhaps the families in the Big City own the traditions which oblige them to have dinner together at home; besides, if the healthy eating habit is an accurate assumption about the families in Big City, it can be considered that the families prefer to cook the dishes by themselves. Since the homemade dishes are healthier. Without accounting these and other subtle points about the survey and its links with big City, this conclusion is inaccurate.

The third problem with the argument is that the writer surmises that the new Captain Restaurant which serves the seafood will be popular and profitable. However, there is no any concrete statistic and information about these restaurants. Even in a case which all assumptions counted as valid ones, there is no guarantee that this specific restaurant will be popular. Maybe it locates in the unsuitable region where it is arduous for the consumers to do their purchases from that spot. Or maybe, the foods presents by the restaurant do not match with the people accustomed tastes. In all of these cases, the restaurant will face the knotty and serious financial problems, and cannot achieve the expected outcomes.

All in all, to persuade me that this conclusion is accurate, the writer should provide the lists of evidence that the 30 percent increment is related to the alternation of native people’s tastes, the validity of nationwide survey in Big City, and the new Captain restaurant is located in a decent location and presents the accustomed tastes. Otherwise, all mentioned assumptions in the argument are vague and suspicion.