A recent sales study indicates that consumption of seafood dishes in Bay City restaurants has increased by 30 percent during the past five years. Yet there are no currently operating city restaurants whose specialty is seafood. Moreover, the majority of families in Bay City are two-income families, and a nationwide study has shown that such families eat significantly fewer home-cooked meals than they did a decade ago but at the same time express more concern about healthful eating. Therefore, the new Captain Seafood restaurant that specializes in seafood should be quite popular and profitable.

In the argument, the author concludes that the new Captain Seafood restaurant that specializes in seafood should be quite popular and profitable.To support the argument, the author points out that a recent study shows that the consumpton of seafood dishes in Bay City restaurants has increased by 30 percent during the pase five years and no currently operating city restaurants whose specialty is seafood. The author also cits that two-income families will like the seafood dishes. However, colse scrutiny of the argument reveals that it is unconvincing in several aspects.

First and foremost, the author assumes that the two studies in the arugment are reliable. However, the author fails to prove that the respones are accurate and the respondents are statistically significant in number. What's more whether the sample is representative enough to reflect the overall attitude deserves to doubtes.Lacking the evidence of survey's relability, the author cannot reach to this assumption.

In addition, the author assues that the national trend about the two-income families will equally applied to Bay City. It is possible that the trend in Bay City is totally opposite. More information should be provide to better bolster the assumption.Moreover, the author assumes that there are no restaurants provide the seafood now and future. However, there may be some restaurants which is going to open or will be open in the future.

Moreover, the author assumes that two-income families who eat signifcantly fewer home-cooked meals and more concern about healthful eating will like seafood dishes. However, eat more healther do not neccessarily mean that they will eat seafood, since there are many other choice about the healtier food other than seafood, such as, the fruite, vegetable, eggs, milk and so on.

Finally, the author assumes that the restaurant will profit. profit is a funciton of cost and revenue. It is possible that the cost of the restaurant will be quite high and hard to get a profit.

In sum, the argument are not based on valid evidenc or sound reasoning, either of which are indespensable of a conclusive argument. To better strenghten the argument, the author should cite more evidence and reason more convincingly and take every possibilities into consideration.