A recent sales study indicates that consumption of seafood dishes in Bay City restaurants has increased by 30 percent during the past five years. Yet there are no currently operating city restaurants whose specialty is seafood. Moreover, the majority of families in Bay City are two-income families, and a nationwide study has shown that such families eat significantly fewer home-cooked meals than they did a decade ago but at the same time express more concern about healthful eating. Therefore, the new Captain Seafood restaurant that specializes in seafood should be quite popular and profitable.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the argument, the author claims that it is both popular and profitable to open a new seafood restaurant in Bay City. To support the argument, the author points out that the seafood consumption in Bay City has grown by 30 percent in the past five years, and that most families in Bay City prefer to eat healthy food outside homes. However, additional evidence would be required for a fully evaluated argument, Those pieces of evidence might undermine the argument or, on the contrary, reinforce it.

The first evidence we need is information about the cited sales study which only provides us the percentage of the increase in the seafood consumption without indicating the base amount of sales. For example, if the base amount is relatively low compared to seafood markets in other cities, the future consumption might not be as promising as what we can imply from the vague number 30 percent. This would certainly weaken the author's argument. On the other hand, if the sales are already much higher than the benchmark, the argument would be strengthened instead based on the vigorous increment. Without the evidence of the base amount of the sales being provided, we could not draw the conclusion that the seafood market is going to be promising in the future.

Another piece of evidence that might be conducive to the evaluation involves whether the conditions and factors influencing the seafood market remained unchanged since the author cites the study conducted for the past 5 years to predict the future market. The argument will be enfeebled, for example, if the water condition around Bay City suffers a severe deterioration and therefore the quality of the seafood is no longer as good as it was, or if citizens show a disinclination to seafood because of the advocate by marine protection organizations. Thus, the author would have to examine those conditions before assuming the continuous growth.

Last but not least, one more evidence that is also important to the argument could come from the nationwide statistics, whether it can be equally applied to Bay City. The nation as a whole might or might not share similarities with Bay City. For instance, the restaurants in Bay City could be really rare which might be implied from the evidence that there are no restaurants with the specialty in seafood currently. This leads to the inclination that residents there get used to cooking at home instead of prowling outside. If so, there is no doubt that the argument will be weaker. Taking these scenarios into account definitely plays a vital role in the development of the argument, therefore, being dispensable.

Apparently, in order to get a comprehensive argument that is both compelling and well-founded, additional evidence should be given by the author with detailed interpretation. This includes, but not limited to, detailed information about the sales study, the variance of conditions affecting the seafood market, and the feasibility of applying the nationwide statistics to Bay City.