The following appeared in a letter sent by a committee of homeowners from the Deerhaven Acres to all homeowners in Deerhaven Acres.

"Seven years ago, homeowners in nearby Brookville community adopted a set of restrictions on how the community's yards should be landscaped and what colors the exteriors of homes should be painted. Since then, average property values have tripled in Brookville. In order to raise property values in Deerhaven Acres, we should adopt our own set of restrictions on landscaping and housepainting."

In the letter sent by the committee to all homeowners in Deerhaven Acres, the author proposes to implement regulations on landscaping and house painting in order to increase the property values. To support the proposal, the author cites the evidence that a similar set of regulations had been implemented in Brookville seven years ago with property values tripled. However, the evidence is insufficient and ineffective to conclude that the same measures are going to yield in Deerhaven Acres.

In the process of reasoning, the author assumes that the uniformity of the yards and of the houses' exterior painting in Brookville is the reason for its increase in the property values. But we find no concrete evidence to substantiate the inevitable relationship between the restrictions and the increase. As we know, the property values are complex indexes that are decided by multiple factors. For example, an increase in population influx could be a reason that pushes the property values to climb up. Alternatively, a slump of demands on the houses could lead to the growth as well. Without ruling out these factors, the homeowners cannot be convinced that the restrictions were responsible for the increase.

Furthermore, a hidden assumption behind the argument is that all conditions and factors upon which the effectiveness of the restrictions depend have remained unchanged during the past seven years. However, conditions and factors could have varied. For instance, the economy in the particular country could be really robust and booming seven years ago. On the contrary, it might suffer a downtrend recession currently. Another counterexample can be related to the population. Seven years ago, the city continuously attracted foreigners to settle in and domestic workers to earn their living there, however, an outflux trend might have been triggered and people are moving out unstoppably. Without taking these possibilities into account, the assumption that the measures taken seven years ago are still effective nowadays is untenable.

Last but not least, in the argument the author recommends the committee of Deerhaven Acres to carry out the same plans as Brookville, but we may ask that whether Deerhaven Acres and Brookville are similar enough and comparable. For example, the majority of people living in Brookville might be engineers and lawyers who prefer rules and integrity, thus, regulated appearances. However, the most people around Deerhaven Acres might be artists and musicians who are with full of imagination and inclined to unconstrained layouts. Before the committee decides to copy Brookville's experience, the author should take these differences into consideration and validate the comparability between the two areas.

In conclusion, even though the author proposed an insightful suggestion for the increase in property values in Deerhaven Acres, the given evidence is far from being sound and sufficient. Thus, to make the argument more compelling, the author would have to provide more information about how the factors can affect the property price and why the successful experience in Brookville can be copied to Deerhaven Acres.