A recent sales study indicates that consumption of seafood dishes in Bay City restaurants has increased by 30 percent during the past five years. Yet there are no currently operating city restaurants whose specialty is seafood. Moreover, the majority of f

In this statement the author analyzes the curent seafood dishes popularity in Bay City, in his conclusion, he suggests that the new openning Captain Seafood restaurant will be more poplular and profitable. While the evidence which he support his conclustion is insufficient and there are some loopholes in this statement, let's evaluate them carefully.

To begin with, the author does not analyze what is the new major consumers who made the consumption of seafood in the city increased 30 percent in the last five years. Without this point, the author's assuming that the majority of families contributed more in this consumption is too hasty. Maybe this city is an vacation place where attracted more travallers here during the past five years. So it would be significant for the author to make clear who makes this increasing at most part.

In addtion, without a professional seafood restaraunts, there was still a 30 percent increasing in seafood dishes consumption, the author should be cautious with this increasing. On one hand, maybe the existing restaurants are sufficient to meet the demands of people who feel like eating seafood.On the other hand, it may be an oppurtunity for new Captain Seafood restaurant to thrive. However, all of the operations should be based on specific survey of local situation, or the new openning restaurant will be precarious when they start business.

Finally,as the author refers to the local majority families are two-income families, who eat less at home while more concerning healthy food in a national scale, will be the main consumers of seafood dishes. However, the national wide survey does not represent the local condition. I can assume that there is a high possiblity that the two-income families in Bay City cook more at home because the survey is insufficient localy. Secondly, there is a huge catalog of healthy food which includes the seafood indeed. Given the choices vary significantly, even if the local two-income families feel like healthy food, they can also eat cereals, yogurt, chicken, cucumbers, etc. The author does not tell us the local two-income families' favor, so it would be arbitrary to make the conclusion that they will eat more seafood.

In conclusion, the author's evidence for this conclusion is insufficient, while there are other ways to be popular and the restaurant's profits is in determined by lots of factors besides the main dishes. The author should make an exhaustive survey to make clear the local market and people's favor, then to make further mearures which I assume more proper.