A recent sales study indicates that consumption of seafood dishes in Bay City restaurants has increased by 30 percent during the past five years. Yet there are no currently operating city restaurants whose specialty is seafood. Moreover, the majority of families in Bay City are two-income families, and a nationwide study has shown that such families eat significantly fewer home-cooked meals than they did a decade ago but at the same time express more concern about healthful eating. Therefore, the new Captain Seafood restaurant that specializes in seafood should be quite popular and profitable.

The author concludes that the new Captain Seafood restaurant that specializes in seafood will be quite popular and profitable based on several reasons provided in the memorandum. The first reason provided by the author is that there are not currently operating restaurants in the city that specializes in seafood. Moreover, the majority of the family in the city are two-income families and the study has shown that these families eat significantly fewer home-cooked meals than did a decade ago but at the same time express concern about healthful eating. However, while the conclusion drawn by the author might hold water, it rests on several unfounded assumptions that, if not substantiated, attenuate the argument's persuasiveness. Therefore, the following points need to be addressed.

Firstly, the author elicited that the new restaurant Captain Seafood specializing in seafood will be quite popular and profitable, but did the author provide any relevant reasons to stick to the statement? This is a mere assumption without any solid grounds. The author hasn't provided any valid reasons regarding the food quality of the Captain Seafood restaurant. Moreover, the author hasn't talked anything about the pricing structure of the food at Captain Seafood. If a survey would have been taken for the new restaurant Captain Seafood all over the city, it would have been a plausible solution for setting the pricing structure and quality of the food.

Secondly, a nationwide study was held recently on the families. However, the author is comparing the results of the recent study with the results gained a decade ago. Ten years is a very long period, and several changes might be made throughout this period of time. It might be possible that the city is populated by other migrants from different cities or states in 10 year period and hence the study might cause fluctuations in the original result.

Moreover, it might be possible that the quality of Bay City restaurant is around its area is the paragon as compared to other restaurants. Hence, the 30% increase in the consumption of seafood seems plausible.

A careful analysis exposes the loopholes present in the argument by the author. The arguments do not seem to be strong enough to buttress the conclusion of Captain Seafood restaurant to be popular and profitable because all the reasons provided by the author are dubious and questionable. Therefore, the author must rethink and provide a logical and foolproof solution.