A recent sales study indicates that consumption of seafood dishes in Bay City restaurants has increased by 30 percent during the past five years. Yet there are no currently operating city restaurants whose specialty is seafood. Moreover, the majority of families in Bay City are two-income families, and a nationwide study has shown that such families eat significantly fewer home-cooked meals than they did a decade ago but at the same time express more concern about healthful eating. Therefore, the new Captain Seafood restaurant that specializes in seafood should be quite popular and profitable.

Seafood consumption is a delicacy in many regions around the globe . People tend to enjoy seafood more on vacations as it is an escape to their banal routine. Captian Seafood resturant can open a its outlet in the city but a more detailed research is required before we can jump on conclusions , hence we do not agree that there is an requirment of a new resturant any time soon. The reasons for the same will be elaborated in ensuing paragraphs .

The consumption of seafood is increased by 30 % which is a good consideration , for opening a new resturant. But the consumption may be increased due to the amount of tourists that visit the place and the tourists visits only a specific time in whole year , which can be a trouble for Captian seafood as for rest of the year , their business which is specific for seafood would be in a loss. The reason behind no outlet till now can also be a genuine because local people may not enjoy the seafood year long as tourists do. and the resturants which already have seafood are from long time and may be able to fulfil the demand , so there is an research required regarding the no of customers who visits the resturant are only intersted in sea food and no other forms of food .

Also the data is insufficent to open a dedicated outlet , because we dont know thatr the resturants which are in business have qualified chefs or not , may be they have expertise in making of sea food , therfore opening a dedicated outlet if cannot match the peoples ecpecatations should be in vain. Therefore a survey should be conducted among the customers referring to oother resturants , are they satisfied with the taste ? Do they require a specific outlet or not ?

The families with dual income may be prefreeing the market food over the home made ones , but we are concern about opening a outlet in a city so, the data of whole nation should not be considered . Because we are not aware about the lifestyle of the people in Bay City , as there is no data to support that , and if they are preferring less home-cooked food than what kind of food people generally eat ? Is it seafood or any other food ? We are not sure about that because its an indivual prefrence . The people may be satisfied with the food which are already being served in the resturants , so thinking that is baseless . There can be a huge demand of the other cuisine like the italian or something else which is not known .

A recent survey showed that in texas , during weekends people prefer outside food but from past 3 years people mostly search for healthy food , because to maintain their diet and it is seen in well-off families more as people are now taking health a serious topic after achieving a certain success in life . So nationwide data cannot support the opening of resturants that too without having proof of diet of people in the city.

Although a much detailed study is required to assess the lifestyle of people in Bay city, the increased consumption cannot be neglected , so it should be surveyed if it is an temporary effect or its all year round . After collecting this data it would be a more profitable deal for Captian sea food to open a outlet in bay city of specialzed sea food .