A recent study by the Center for Disease Control and Prevention found that employees with paid sick leave are 28 percent less likely to be involved in a work-related accident than employees who do not receive payment for sick leave. Researchers hypothesize that employees with unpaid sick leave feel pressured to work during time of illness for fear of lack of pay. On-the-job accidents are then spurred by impaired judgment or motor skills due to illness or illness-related medications. The highest-risk occupations, such as construction, showed the highest discrepancy between paid and unpaid leave.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to determine whether the researchers’ hypothesis is reasonable. Be sure to explain what effects the answers to these questions would have on the validity of the hypothesis.

In this argument, the author suggests that according to the study of disease control and prevention the employees with paid sick leaves are less likely to involved in work related accident as compared to employees with no paid sick leaves. However, the given argument is depends on certain additional assumptions which are not explicitly stated and which, should they prove unfounded, may critically weakened the final conclusion.

First of all, what is the work function of employees who are more likely to involve in job related accident? For instance, it is possible that employees who are more likely to involved in such accident may doing floor work and the employee who are with unpaid sick leaves and doing desk job are not part of this study. In such a case without knowing the actual proportion of such people, it will unwarranted to say that people involved in work accidents are mostly employees with unpaid sick leaves. If either of these scenarios has merit, then the conclusion drawn in the original argument is significantly weakened.

Secondly, does the study by disease control and prevention team has known the actual reason of accident? In the given argument it is not explicitly mention about the reasons behind the accidents. Maybe, it is possible that the large proportion of accidents is due to the system failure or because of the ignorance of some other peoples. Without knowing the actual reason behind every accident it will be silly to say that the accident are cause due to the sickness of employee. Do the employee involved in such an accident are really sick? May be, the employees involved in such accidents are not sick on day of accident. If any of these mention case were true, then it will be unwarranted to jump to the final conclusion.

Further, what about the other industries? The argument has only mentioned about the construction industry but what about other industries like IT, Health industry etc. Do they have the same proportion of accident in which employee with unpaid sick leaves are more likely to involved in work related accident as compared to employees with paid sick leaves? Without knowing all this scenarios, it will be unwarranted to jump to the final conclusion.

In conclusion, while the reasons cited in original argument does provide initial believe that the employees with unpaid sick leaves are more likely to involved in work related accident as compared to employees without unpaid sick leaves but the argument depends on the additional assumption which are, namely- the work type of employees, actual reason of accident, do the employees are really sick during the accident?, is there same scenario with other industries. With all these information in place the author’s conclusion not only becomes plausible but convincing. As in the original argument there are no such concrete evidences are provided by author that will satisfy these assumptions, we must remain skeptical.