A recent study by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention found that employees with paid sick leave, are 28% less likely to be involved in a work-related accident than employees who do not receive payment for sick leave. Researchers hypothesize that employees with unpaid sick leave feel pressure to work during time of illnes for fear of lack of pay. On-the-job accidents are spurred by impaid judgement or motor skills due to illness or illness-related medications. The highest-risk occupations, such as oconstruction, showed the highest discrepancy in incidents based upon paid and unpaid leave.

The argument makes several assumptions regarding the relationship between paid and unpaid leaves in work place and occurence of on-the-job accidents. These assumptions though are riddled with holes and if they are just

assumed to be true without exploring the reasoning behind the argument and analyse them, the hypothesis would be based on a shaky foundation and any real-life implementation of solutions to this problem, would likely not

yield the expected results.

The argument assumes that there is a direct correlation between work-related accidents and the benefit of paid sick leaves. While this may hold some water for desk-jobs, assumption falls apart for jobs that involve field work

such as construction. Strenous work like construction involve workers using heavy machinery, most of which are dangerous if not used properly. Even the most efficient worker is likely to end up in an accident at site, due

to number of reasons ranging from treacherous movement of heavy material, fall from a huge height while working, dealing with materials which could be toxic after prolonged exposure, etc. Construction workers are more likely

do develop health problems due to inhaling dust and other materials from the site than due to other work related accidents. Therefore provision of paid sick leaves does not decrease the likelihood of accidents at work place

for fields involving strenous labor.

When it comes to fields which involve desk-job, there are very few factors which could cause some work related accident resulting in causing major harm to the employee. Due to the very nature of such jobs, most of the work-related

incidents that could possibly are due to accidents that a person/people have no control over. Fire in office, lift stuck in between floors, etc. The effect of an employee working even when they are sick, due to fear of lack of pay,

suffer it's consequences due to their own decreased productivity. Lack of concentration or focus due to illness causes them to make some mistakes, which will likely result in a loss for the entity they are working for and themselves.

But it will rarely lead to any work related accidents that could serious maim them or anyone else. Though it is true that employees will use sick leaves to recover if they are paid, the end result will be that the employees can function

when they are recovered and serve the organisation to the best of their abilities without any fear of lack of pay. This boosts productivity and always a desired effect for the organisation or entity they are working for.

The argument makes several assumptions by hypothesizing direct correlation between paid/unpaid sick leaves and work-related accidents. But there are major holes in the hypothesis which if turns out to be true, will break the argument apart.