A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising

The argument states that for the business to prosper, it should hire only those people who won't need more than 6 hours of sleep. While the conclusion might seem inferential, it is rooted in certain assumptions and overstretched conclusions that are more fallacious than warranted. The argument connects the sleep requirements of executives to the success of their advertising firms. While making a direct correlation between the average hours of sleep required per night for every executive, with the success of their firms, the argument fails to take into account many different things.

First of all, the biggest assumption in the argument that all things being equal, number of hours of sleep is the only factor influencing the success of the firms. It fails to take into account whether the executives who sleep less than 6 hours per night, also take an hour or two of nap in the evening or post lunch. The argument simply assumes that the executives who sleep less than 6 hours per night tend to work all day. There is a possibility that these executives take numerous breaks. There is a possibility that they sleep lesser, but consume more coffee to be awake and alert which can unduly influence the sleep. Some of these executives might have insomnia which could have affected the study. These are the unsaid assumptions that the argument doesn't take into account when presenting the conclusion.

The argument also fails to discuss the other reasons a business could have for the success. Here, the argument is focused only on the executives and their average hours of night sleep. The company could very well be successful because of other factors such as the effectiveness of the assistants of the executives, the people who work for them, the team that comes up with creative ideas, the marketing or sales team that does the core work, and even a combination of some or all of these. These could all be contributing towards the success of the firm, and take either of these away, the success may not be replicated. All these questions are unanswered, and these are all just taken for granted in the study.

Furthermore, the argument discusses only higher profit margins. It fails to disclose any information about the entire revenue of the companies. A company could be making a billion dollars out of 10 billion dollar investment, and another company could be making 100 million dollars out of a billion dollar investment, and saying that both companies make the same profit margin and so both are equal, would be fallacious. We don't see any information about all these companies that are studied and evaluated. The argument just tells that the profit margins are higher where the executives slept less than 6 hours per night, but fails to discuss what the actual numbers are, which would be much more influential in arriving at a decision. It's very difficult to achieve the same profit margin as the revenue and the size of a company keeps increasing. A company making a profit margin of 7% at a market-cap of 20 billion is probably better than a company making a profit margin of 70% at a market-cap of 20 million. We can't compare them both on just the margin basis, which would be faulty to begin with.

Finally, the conclusion that a business should hire only those sleeping less than 6 hours per night is riddled with faulty assumptions and conjectures, those that aren't rooted in unassailable logic. All these aforementioned reasons renders the conclusion invalid.