"Scientific research has shown that Clear-One Bottled Water has many minerals needed for good health and that it is totally free of bacteria. Residents of the town where the water is bottled get sick less frequently than the national average. Even though Clear-One is higher-priced than the other bottled waters, it is a good long-term investment in your health."

Directions: Discuss how well-reasoned you find this argument. Be sure to analyze the line of reasoning and the use of evidence in this argument. You may need to consider what questionable assumptions underlie the thinking and what alternative explanations or counterexamples might weaken the conclusion. You can also include what sort of evidence would strengthen or refute the argument, what changes in the argument would make it more logically sounds, and what, if anything, would help you better evaluate its conclusion.

The arguement claims that if a person drinks Clear- One Bottled water will get sick less frequently than the national average. The arguement here is stated in a way that does not account for other factors that help people stay healthy. The conclusion of the arguement is based on a number of assumptions for which there is no clearly evidence supporting it. Therefore the arguement is unconvincing and incomplete.

First of all there are numerous assumptions that the arguement is based on. The first assumption is that people are very brand loyal to Clear One, for which there is no strong evidence supporting it. We have many brands of mineraled and flavoured water that are there in the market which is endorsed by sportspersons and fitness brands. Let us take the example of one8 brand that is endorsed by Virat Kohli, which has entered the vitamin water bottle business. Since the brand is endorsed by a high class sportsperson, people tend to be loyal to that brand.

Moreover the arguement also assumes that the drinking of bottled water is the only reason for people getting sick less frequently that the national average. There is no concrete numbers mentioned about the above claim. This is just based on a scientific research, which is also not known to be verified by any established research agency. The company does not provide certain numbers from the survey or the research stating their target population, research period and other concrete evidence to support their conclusion.

The above conclusion can be strengthed by stating statistics about the research showing the brand loyalty, which can known by the retention rate & new customer acquisition rate and number of sick people registered who are using Clear One Bottled water vs normal water.

In conclusion the arguement is flawed, for the above mentioned reasons. Also to determine the merit of the arguement, as mentioned above, we need to have number and statistics supporting the conclusion.