"Several recent surveys indicate that home owners are increasingly eager to conserve energy. At the same time, manufacturers are now marketing many home appliances, such as refrigerators and air conditioners, that are almost twice as energy efficient as those sold a decade ago. Also, new technologies for better home insulation and passive solar heating are readily available to reduce the energy needed for home heating. Therefore, the total demand for electricity in our area will not increase — and may decline slightly. Since our three electric generating plants in operation for the past twenty years have always met our needs, construction of new generating plants will not be necessary."

The author's claim demand a decrease in total electricity demand , as according to several surveys use of efficient appliances can help to decrease the electricity and new generating plants won't necessary. The argument seems genuine at first, however it includes some underlying assumptions which are questionable and can render the argument spurious if disproven .

first of all, the author indicates that owners are increasingly eager to conserve energy based on several surveys ,we cannot quantify the result on several surveys we need to have survey of every state and place of the country and act according depending upon the place and what people want like new york does not have any space for renewable energy except its terraces if they arent occupied but in case of Clemson we have a lot of free space and owners or government can plan to conserve energy , After all the statement seems to be blatantly made without scrutinizing all the places.

Secondly , the author states that manufacturers are marketing may home appliances like refrigerators and air conditioners which are twice efficient as sold a decade back, technology is improving but cost for the technology will also increase everyone cannot replace their refrigerators if they are in good conditions just beacuse environment">environmental issues , everyone cannot afford such new tech so easily, author needs to specify some government policies for use of such devices and statistics of how much money will be saved in coming years , keeping the cost side aside the authors fails to provide the pollution caused for producing new technology devices that those previously manufactured ,he's such trying to do marketing of those devices. so the author should provide the statistics of price of new technology and its return on investment compared to previous one and the energy required to manufacture the new component compared the old ones .

Going on , new technologies for better home insulation and passive solar heating are readily available to reduce the energy needed for home heating, so the maths done by author might be true but author fails to consider the environment in which the solar panels will produce the electricity and in what environment do we need electricity . we need to heat our house during winters, when the solar panels won't be working in those snowy conditions thus we are dependent on grid electricity , thus during winters in total the electricity might remain constant or might increase depending on conditions but it won't decline.

The author has assumed the entire scenario in very positive manner without considering whole district or state or country without scrutinizing any of the parameters in different situations , the final statement of author for no need for new generation plants is flawed conclusion and need to consider the increasing need for energy with increasing population and technology.

The above assumptions undermine the authors argument brought up in the memo, had the author considered better alternatives to the issue and explicitly surveyed all areasand considered all environment">environmental conditions the argument could have been infacible