In a study of reading habits of Leeville citizens conducted by the University of Leeville, most respondents said they preferred literary classics as reading material. However, a follow-up study conducted by the same researchers found that the type of book most frequently checked out of each of the public libraries in Leeville was the mystery novel. Therefore, it can be concluded that the respondents in the first study had misrepresented their reading habits.

The author of this argument, relies on the study conducted by University of Leeville which has shown that the reading habits of Leeville citizens is more inclined towards literary classics. And further a follow up survey is also conducted by the same researchers and found that most people have issued mystery novels from the public libraries. So, the author have jumped to a conclusion that in their first study respondents have misinterpreted their reading habits. But, there are several factors that authors have not considered and naively concluded his/her argument.

To determine the validity of this argument we must inspect the study of peolpe of Leevile and study of public libraries. The argument in its current form form is not convincing enough as author makes too many unwarranted assumptions to it.

Firstly, the validity of study done by researchers has to be questioned. How many people have responded to it? What age group people they have studied? What were the questions in their study that they asked? This will give us a broader idea of how the study has been conducted and what have been their considerations in their study. There might be a possibilty that people they have studied usually belongs to 30-50 years age group but people of that age rarely visits library. People of age 15-30 usually are more frequent visitors to library.

Secondly, the question arises is that how many people do often visit library. Many people are much reading enthusiats that they maintain there own library and in no need of going to library to issue a book. And there is a possibility that the data of issuing of books is not properly maintained by library or recently have refereshed. One more question that can be raised that why only public libraries are to considered for the study there can be numerous private libraries from which people have issued books of their interest in literary classics. Moreover, the number of libraries covered under the study is a essential point to cover.

Thirdly, the time span between the two study should also be considered. May be the time between two study is such that the people interest for reading have changed. Or there can be demographic change in the city of Leevile that people have become more inclined towards mystery novels.

Therefore, unless the arguer will establish a link between study of reading habits to the study of books issuesd from the library it will be difficult to assume that the respondents misinterpreted their reading habits leaving the argument provided by the author does ambiguous. It is based on unconfirmed premises and he/she should have provided more evidence about the books present in the library in order to make argument more stronger and cogent. Hence, the conclusion made by arguer is indefensible.