"The surface of a section of Route 101, paved just two years ago by Good Intentions Roadways, is now badly cracked with a number of dangerous potholes. In another part of the state, a section of Route 40, paved by Appian Roadways more than four years ago, is still in good condition. In a demonstration of their continuing commitment to quality, Appian Roadways recently purchased state-of-the-art paving machinery and hired a new quality-control manager. Therefore, I recommend hiring Appian Roadways to construct the access roads for all our new shopping malls. I predict that our Appian access roads will not have to be repaired for at least four years."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of the argument purportedly highlights that Appian roadways are the best choice for building a new access road for shopping mall because they hired a new control quality manager and a new machine. So, their roads will not need repair at least for four years. However, the premises upon which he puts his claim are fallacious. For the support of which more well-established evidence needs to be given.

First, the author contends that one of the roads named Route 101 constructed by intentions Roadways Company two years ago is now badly damaged by many potholes. However, it does not lend credence to the argument since there is no sufficient evidence to support if all roads constructed by this company are now destroyed. One point that should be considered is that the author just provides information about one road. Indeed, maybe this road is located in a crowded area and majorities of people or other vehicles are in rush coming in and coming out. In such case, the road will destroy as soon as possible and need repair. It is also important to say that the author does not say anything about other roads constructed by this company. There is a possibility that they are in a good condition.

The author also attributes that route 40 paved by Appian Company after four years is still in a good condition and does not need any repair. Although it might seem tenable at a face, it has some defects due to the paucity of evidence that would consolidate the premise the otherwise. One of the main, if not the only, problem with the premise is that the author just represents information about one road. What if other routes have become cracked even after one year? In fact, maybe the author just wants to advertise the construction of Appian Company. Moreover, there is a possibility that other routes paved by Appian are still in a bad condition.

Finally, as set forth by the author the Appian Company demonstrates its commitment to the quality and hired new technology. Nevertheless, the rationale behind this premise could be challenged owing to an inadequate evidence to support if demonstration of commitment is enough for good quality of construction. One point that should not go unnoticed is that maybe Appian Company is just advertising and want to appeal more customers to this demonstration. Or if it is able to pave good roads like route 101, why they hired new technology that might be costly and need a vast sum of money? As a matter of fact, experience and knowledge might be more effective than showing commitment to quality.

Having scrutinized all the premises, a logical conclusion that can be drawn is that there is some evidence, having been ignored by the author while the presence of which could add to the logic of each premise.