In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating and fishing) among their favourite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river’s water and the river’s smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is, therefore, sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year’s budget to riverside recreational facilities.

According to the article, the speaker proposes an increased budget for riverside recreational activities, citing the fact that the residents of Mason City enjoy water sports the most. The speaker concludes that the cleaning of the Mason River will boost the use of the river for water sports. However, there isn't any clear evidence to prove the same.

Although the residents of Mason City certainly enjoy water sports the most amongst all recreational activities, there isn't any evidence stating that they would want to use Mason River in particular for such activities. According to the article, the only complaint about the river was its pungent smell, which called for the urgent action of cleaning up the river. Thus, we can, in no way, assume that the people of Mason City would want to use the river explicitly for swimming, boating, and fishing.

There is even more doubt on the fact that the Mason City residents engage in water sports at any time of the year. If they enjoy such recreational activities only during the holidays, there is a probability that they might prefer to go out of the city for a change in scenery. Although there will definitely be some people going to Mason River to enjoy such activities, it is difficult to firmly state whether that number will be the majority or not. If more people prefer to go away for their holidays, the entire logic of the speaker is immensely flawed. As there isn't enough information shedding light on this matter, the popularity of Mason River is still quite in the dark.

Furthermore, even if such matters were concluded appropriately, there isn't any mentioning of the matter whether the river itself would be suitable for such activities. Considering pungent smells and the cleaning drive, there isn't any reliable information on whether the cleaning would be completed within the same year or not. If it isn't, the budget for riverside recreational activities would become null and void, rendering it redundant for the time.

Thus, in conclusion, there isn't enough evidence mentioned in the article to validate the speaker's position of a definite increase in the popularity of the Mason River, owing to its clean-up drive. With the lack of appropriate information, it is difficult to conclude that there should be more money devoted for 'riverside recreational activities' in the year's budget.