In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating, and fish -

ing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through

the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department

devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years

there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river’s water

and the river’s smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean

up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is, therefore, sure to increase. The

city government should for that reason devote more money in this year’s budget to

riverside recreational facilities.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of

the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions

and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument claims that dirty river with a pungent smell along with lack of funding from Mason City’s budget is the reason behind Mason river not being used for water sports. The writer claims that surveys show that the city’s residents rate water sports as a top recreational sport to support his argument. But, the argument made uses vague terms, does not quantify, ignores time required to complete projects and mistakes correlation with causality.

While using the surveys to support the argument, the writer assumes that these surveys were conducted by credible sources. It might be the case that surveys were conducted only in a few localities where water sports are popular or only approached people who have water sports as a common interest. The writer needs to specify the credibility of these surveys along with the demographics of the people who participated in them.

One can immediately notice the lack of quantification in the surveys supporting the argument. How many citizens rank water sports as a preferred recreational activity? This lack of quantization can be seen throughout the paragraph. City park department devotes a “little” of its budget to riverside recreational facilities. One can raise a question on how little is the amount of money provided? The argument also does not provide us with a contrast between the money allocated by different cities for these facilities. It also fails to tell us if the money given is insufficient.

Irrespective of the money provided by the city park department, there can be other reasons why water sports in the Mason City might be impractical. Does the weather allow these activities? Does there exist minimal turbulence in the river? How fast is the flow of the river? These questions need to be answered before one can conclude the lack of funding and a polluted river are the primary reasons.

While the argument does not state assumptions regarding the practicality of water sports in Mason City, it does state many flawed reasons to support its claim. While a polluted river can be correlated with recreational facilities not being used, further elaboration is needed to claim correlation as causation. Announced plans to clean this river does not indicate how soon can the project be expected to be completed. Therefore, the claim that government should devote more money in “this” year’s budget raises questions.

The argument is asking for more budget to be allocated for maintaining riverside recreational facilities. The credibility of surveys and quantification of people supporting the cause along with the amount already provided for recreation needs to be specified. To strengthen the argument, further evidence is required to prove pollution of the river is a primary cause along with the practicality of conduction such activities in the river. For a better evaluation of the argument, a clarification is required on the timeline of cleaning of Mason river.