In surveys Mason city residents rank water sports ( swimming, boating and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason river flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits,however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has reticently announced plans to clean up the Mason river. Use of the river for water sports is therefore sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

A recent survey of 250 adults between the ages of 30 and 45 showed an association between the number of adults spend online each day and self reporting of symptoms commonly associated with depression. The survey found that adults who spend 30hrs or more online each week were twice as likely as others to report that they "frequently" had trouble concentrating. Of adults who reported spending more than 30hrs per week online 20% also reported that they had felt "sad down or blue" at least 3 times within the past month.

These results suggest that spending too much time online is linked to depression and people who want to improve their well-being should strictly limit the time they spend online.

Write a response in which u discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable.

Be sure to explain how the answer to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

A survey of 250 adults reported that adults between the age of 30 and 45 who surf or browse through the net on a regular basis went into depression. The survey then states that those adults who spent 30hrs or more on the internet every week had twice the chances of developing concentration difficulties compared to others. Out of the adults who spent 30hrs or more online, 20% of them became dull and gloomy atleast thrice in the past month. The result discerned from the survey shows that browsing through the net for very long periods can cause depression and the time spend on the web should be reduced or limited in order for people to become better versions of themselves. The survey does prove to be resourceful,

However the argument does not strongly support the recommendation as there are some loopholes.

First of all, the internet has become everything in today's world and has numerous uses . There is no doubt that it has shaped people's lives for the better or worse. In today's world, were people rely on the internet for most of their wants and needs , it has both innocuous and detrimental effects on people depending upon the purpose for which people use it. The above argument never mentioned the reasons why people go online because a lot of people commence online businesses or create a website or a blog and put the internet to good use and that definitely needs to be noted. When people carry out unproductive activities such as playing video games all day long or watching videos every time they go online , they are more likely to develop concentration problems whereas a person who makes the best out of the internet may probably not face these kind of difficulties. So the reasons why people browse through the internet is an important factor concerning the well being of the people.

Secondly, The survey is not completely reliable because it has a small sample size. Hence by surveying only 250 adults one cannot jump into immediate conclusions or make impulsive

recommendations.If 250 adults face these kind of difficulties, there is no surety that other people would also get affected the same way because every individual is completely different.

So I would conclude by saying that the questions passed above need to answered in order for the recommendation to be evaluated and the argument to be strong. However, it is an undeniable fact that people should definitely reduce the time they spend online in order for them to grow as a person.