"A ten-year nationwide study of the effectiveness of wearing a helmet while bicycling indicates that ten years ago, approximately 35 percent of all bicyclists reported wearing helmets, whereas today that number is nearly 80 percent. Another study, however, suggests that during the same ten-year period, the number of bicycle-related accidents has increased 200 percent. These results demonstrate that bicyclists feel safer because they are wearing helmets, and they take more risks as a result. Thus, to reduce the number of serious injuries from bicycle accidents, the government should concentrate more on educating people about bicycle safety and less on encouraging or requiring bicyclists to wear helmets."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The author of the argument purportedly highlights that in order to diminish the number of bicyclists' accidents, government should galvanize people to wear helmet instead of inform them about safety. However, the premises upon which he puts his claim are fallacious. For the support of which some critical, yet ignored question need to be addressed.

To commence with, the author asserts that ten years study about usefulness of wearing helmet show that it increase from 35 percent to 85 percent among people. However, it does not lend credence to the argument since a question that might arise is whether the number of population during this ten years has remained the same. One point that should be considered is that population in every corner of the world fluctuate day in day out so, without any doubt the population during these years has increased. In this case, the number of bicyclists and wearing helmet will increase simultaneously. Indeed, there is not any evidence to show that people are willing to wear these helmet by their own willing or not. Maybe government had coerced them to wear such helmets during ten years. It is also important to say that this study could not be reliable and accurate due to the fact that it does not represent in what ways the number of people wearing helmet has increased.

The author also contends that according to another study the number of accidents among bicyclists have increased drastically. Although it might seems tenable at face, it has some defects since you can always ask this question if those accidents happened just behalf of bicyclists. One of the main, if not the only, problem with the premise is that there are vast majorities of vehicles on the streets that might cause serious accidents. In fact, this study does not show to the extent bicyclists have been the main reason of accidents. Alongside that, bicyclists usually have specific lanes on the streets, which are safe to do. Arguably, maybe the major reason of accidents were other cars or people, who knows?

Finally, as set forth by the author because of wearing helmets, bicyclists feel safer and take more risks. Nevertheless, the rationale behind this premise could be challenged owing to an unsettled question if wearing helmets could keep bicyclists' bodies safe from injuries. One point that should not go unnoticed is that although wearing helmets could help bicyclists stay healthy, it could not guarantee bicyclists from other injuries. Indeed, there is possibility that other parts of their bodies be at risk. Moreover, bicyclists could not feel safe just by helmets owing to the fact that they should be aware of many rules about doing bicycle.

Having scrutinized all the premises, a logical conclusion that can be drawn is that there are a number of question, having been ignored by the author while the answer of which could add to the logic of each premise.