There is now evidence that the relaxed pace of life in small towns promotes better health and

greater longevity than does the hectic pace of life in big cities. Businesses in the small town of Leeville report fewer days of sick leave taken by individual workers than do businesses in the nearby large city of Masonton. Furthermore, Leeville has only one physician for its one thousand residents, but in Masonton the proportion of physicians to residents is five times as high. Finally, the average age of Leeville residents is significantly higher than that of Masonton residents. These findings suggest that the relaxed pace of life in Leeville allows residents to live longer, healthier lives.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could

rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly

account for the facts presented in the argument

A more relaxed life in the small town of Leesville (L), the L Chamber of Commerce believes, has given rise to more healthy people of the people in the L than people in the Mansonton (M). This conclusion is based on that workers in the small town of L who take fewer sick days than do the workers in the town M. Furthermore the rate of stress-related illness is seemingly fewer in the L town. As the argument lacks the several vital evidence, It is current shape is open to different explanations.

First, the fewer sick days taken by the worker in L do not guarantee that the workers have a relaxed pace of life, necessarily. The workers in L might take a few sick days because the small town has lesser population and it might not be proportionally compared to M. Even if the comparison is proportional to population, the fewer incidences of sick days might be due to a different nature of their works. It is possible that workers in the M are exposed more to pollution rendering them sick. If that was the case, then the more relaxed pace life scenario would be ruled out.

Secondly, the author refers to fewer diagnosis of stress related diseases to affirm the relaxed pace of life in the L. The diagnosis carried out by who? And to what extend does the diagnosis cover the population? We do not know. It is possible that the diagnosis is carried out by the physicians whose patients visit them. If this is the case, it is possible that people in the L town simply are not familiar with such diseases and fewer of them go to the doctors as patients, while people in M town are more familiar and more of them visit the physicians. It is also possible that the diagnosed population is among a category of people not the whole society. For instance, the workers might be diagnosed to have stress-related diseases. If these are the case, again the comparison cannot be valid.

Finally, even if all the author’s explanations hold true, there is no evidence which exclusively connects the relaxed pace of life to fewer sick days and fewer stress-related diseases in L. It is possible that people in L have a better nutrition than the people in the M, and this has made people of M more vulnerable to diseases. It is possible that genetically the people in the town L are calmer than people in the M town, that stress linked diseases are less frequent in the L not the slower pace of life.

In short, the argument lacks several vital evidence. Such a shortcoming in supporting evidence rendered the author’s argument open to different assumptions. Therefore, the conclusion which is based on such an argument fails to be tenable.