TThe following was used as part of an internet advertising company's appeal to businesses: Furniture Depot employed our internet advertising company to help. Since then its sales increased by 10% over last year's totals. Furniture Depot's success demonstrates how using our internet services can increase your profitability.

Describe how well reasoned you find this argument. In the discussion be sure to analyze the line of reasoning and the use of evidence in the argument. For example, you may need to consider what questionable assumptions underlie the thinking and what alternative explanations or counterexamples might weaken the argument's conclusion. You may also address possible changes in the argument that would make it more logically sound, and what, if anything, would help you better evaluate its conclusion.

The writer concludes that after Furniture Depot employed their internet

advertising company their sales increased by 10%. The writer uses this increase in

sales as their only evidence to support their claim that their internet advertising

company will increase profitability of their customers. Their advertising may be the

reason Furniture Depot increases sales, but this may not be the only reason.The

writer makes a major assumption that may make this claim incorrect.

The writer claims that amount of sales increased, this however does not mean

that Furniture Depot made a larger profit in comparison to last year. If there was an

increase in sales there might have been more customer sales but they may have

not bought higher priced items. This would mean they profitted less than if less

customers bought more expensive options.This could weaken their argument that

the internet advertising company increased profitability.

Other factors could have caused Furniture Depot to be increasing in sales. A

factor to be further investigated is the house market at the time. If the house market

has decreased more people may be buying homes, therefore, they would be

furnishing these homes. This could cause a spike in sales. If the cost of housing

has decreased this current year in comparison to last year, this could explain the

increase in sales. This would weaken their argument they were the responsible for

the additional sales Furniture Depot experienced.

Another reason Furniture Depot may have increased in sales is due to other

promotions they offered this year. If the store increased the amount of discounts

they offered then more people may have been inclined to buy more items. This

would result in an increase in sales. This would weaken their argument. In addition,

Furniture Depot may have been using alternate methods of advertising. They may

have used television or radio commercials, billboards or flyers to promote their

business. If this is the case then the internet advertising company cannot be soley

responsible for this increase in sales. This would weaken their argument.

The writer assumes that their internet advertising company is responsible for

the increased sales of their customer Furniture Depot. They claimed that this shows

their services correlates to profitability. This may be the case but we are unable to

determine whether that is true or not based on the evidence presented. The

Furniture Depot may have increased sales from many other factors such as the

increase in people buying real estate, using other forms of advertisement or offering

discounts. Finally, their claim to increase profitability may not be true based on the

fact that more sales does not necessarily mean more profit. These factors would

need to be further investigated before they can strongly say that their advertising

company helped their customer be a success.