Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia. Using an observation-centered approach to studying Tertian culture, he concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than

This argument, about the way of rearing of children in the island of Tertia , While appears cogent enough and plausible, it is however, rife with certain key assumptions which call for additional evidence.

First and foremost, it is mentioned that Dr.Field’s conclusion about the rearing method in Tertia is rather archaic, which is twenty years ago in whereas Dr.Karp is performing his experiments in recent times according to the information. Consequently, Dr.Karps’s contemporary experiments might not reflect the conditions twenty years ago, for all we know, the actual origins of people might have changed let alone and their customs and cultures during these decades. As a result, it rather proves to be capricious to bluntly overthrow the results and conclusions of Dr.Field without confirming whether or not the people and their customs haven’t changed.

Further, it is stated that, Dr.Karp has interviewed some of the children from Tertia, nevertheless, there is no standard evidence that this particular set of children interviewed represent the whole community overall. It might so happen that those interviewed children are indeed disparate from rest of the village and thereby making them a biased set and colouring the results and rendering the conclusion fallacious. On the other hand, had it been evident that these set of children are indeed a good representative of the community overall, the results have been reliable.

Additionally, the argument draws a rather unclear connection between children talking more about their biological parents and less about other adults to the earlier conclusion about them being reared by village false. In addition to this it should be noted that the people who were interviewed are children, for all we know, they are rather benighted beings and it is not wise to base an entire conclusion on the words of just them. It is by no tenable means that this is proved. It is not rather such unequivocal that this implies they are reared by the biological parents only and not by the village. This rather tenuous conclusion is totally devoid of any evidence for that matter.

Furthermore, the author also rather boldly points out that the falsity, if at all, of Dr.Field’s earlier conclusions about Tertia which is based on his observation, is a failure of the entire Observation-centred approach. For all we know, Dr.Field may indeed be correct since he has observed things and documented them and in Dr.Karp’s case, as mentioned earlier, it is children who are interviewed without actually asked about the question at hand, the rearing custom. As a result, it is a bit precipitous to base on this and state the interview-centred approach supersedes observation-centred approach.