Two years ago consultants predicted that West Egg s landfill which is used for garbage disposal would be completely filled within five years During the past two years however the town s residents have been recycling twice as much material as they d

While in the last two years, residents in the town have been recycling twice as much material as they did in the previous year, it is still remain unsure whether they will keep on reusing these materials in the following years next month. The author may overestimate underestimate the neighbor’s will of recycling after the two years. Possibly, Since the government may have promoted the project in the past two years by that providing awards for who recycled s the material used, so residents may have tried to do recycling in order to gain the awards. However, If the government stops ping doing so as they have it has limited budget, it is not hard to imagine the recycle rate will decline—without having incentive present from local government, their passion to recycle may not be as strong enthusiastic as that in previous two years. To make sure whether neighbors do are really have a strong commitment, a vast, object survey is needed, and the government’s plans should be taken into account [solution直接跟自己所讲的原文问题挂钩、对应, 影响的是“最终结论”]. To ensure whether people will continue recycling, the argument needs to examine more possible factors contributing to their recycling behavior in the past two year – their growing awareness of being eco-friendly, or external stimulus like governmental subsidy on individuals who do recycling.

The author cites a rate that 90% residents are willing to do more recycle projects to protect their our environment. However, if we take a look at to the result, it has a major problem—the method. The person who carries out the survey might use the method of doing face-to-face interview and put it on the TV or the website. Under this situation, while being interviewed by journalists, neighbors can lie in front of the camera. Nobody will leave an impression that he is a person who remains considering himself only, other than care the neighbor and the environment he lives in; consequently, he will pretend that he will do more and more recycling in the future to keep a good impression, in the survey. To avoid this consequence, the scholars who carry out the interview can use the way that the information of residents may be well protected, hence, they may tell the truth more information on how the survey is conducted is needed – whether the subjects’ private information is protected by not showing their real names in the survey, for example. If not, the results shown in the survey might not be true and therefore, the alleged stronger will of recycling does not necessarily transformed in real actions, which makes the argument ungrounded.

Exclude In addition to the problem of survey method, the survey itself still have many problems. The survey might have interviewed a small little number of residents. If only 100 residents were taken in to account, and if 90 of them gave the answer that they will do recycling, obviously it could cannot represent the total situation of the town with a population of more than 1,000 people. Another issue is that we cannot make sure if the interviewees of all walks of life were included all lives of work. Different groups of people may have different answers. Wealthy people who are able to afford new things may not be willing to recycle, and for those who do not have enough money, they have to and are willing to do recycle over and over again. If the interviewer only did the survey in the area where poor people were gathering, he they may receive the answer that 90% of people are willing to recycle. To have an objective survey, interviewers need to have a vast survey which includes all groups of people to further back up its validity and the optimistic estimation in the argument.