Due to science and technology people around the world are living similar lifestyle Do you think it is a positive or negative development

As different parts of the world increasingly interconnected, people living in different regions or parts of the world actually are having similar lifestyles. They grab a coffee in Starbucks, wear Uniqlo T-shirts, or take easy bite at McDonald's. In this positive trend? I guess not.

True, globalization and advance in technology allows the gap between different regions to shrink. Because of this, those in less developed countries also can buy products with high price-performance ratio and enjoy a comparatively higher life quality, compared with half a century ago. In addition, with the widespread use of Instagram and Facebook, these people can also follow the latest trend of fashion ongoing in the world. Social media and easy access to affordable international brands seemed to make people's life better and more comfortable. There is another side of this phenomenon, however.

First, cultural richness and diversity as well as the manifestations of local characters are in sad disappearance. Undeniably local cultures are inextricably bound up in its local commodities or handmade artifacts but with things like fast fashion brands advancing in almost every corner of the world local artifacts are outcompeted, which contributes to the sad loss of cultural diversity. KFC mugs can be easily found in different cities but a special bowl made of wood cannot in Japan. Plus in this increasingly similar world, strong cultures such as western cultures invades weaker ones causing the uniformity of values and further loss of creativity. Children in Asia or USA who easily sing the songs of Black Pink, a hit K-pop girls band, or chase the news of NBA All-Star players, might not be aware of their national heroes in the field of science, literature, art or humanity. The less inspiration from such influential patriots leads to children’s less motivation of bringing a difference to their own country. This can be a worrying trend to the less developed parts of the world.

Therefore, in general, I don't think it's still wise to remain optimistic to see that with the rapid growth in science and technology the world is becoming increasingly similar.