Two years ago, radio station WCQP in Rockville decided to increase the number of call-in advice programs that it broadcast; since that time, its share of the radio audience in the Rockville listening area has increased significantly. Given WCQP's recent success with call-in advice programming, and citing a nationwide survey indicating that many radio listeners are quite interested in such programs, the station manager of KICK in Medway recommends that KICK include more call-in advice programs in an attempt to gain a larger audience share in its listening

area.

The argument points out KICK station's manager’s recommendation to gain more audience, which is to include call-in advice programs. He recommends so because he thinks it worked for WCQP and a national survey indicates increasing popularity in call-in advise programs. But his conclusion is rife with holes and backed by some unwarranted assumptions, which, in order to make the argument more persuasive, needs to be clarified.

First, The argument states as if the increase call-in advice programs was the only reason for the increase in audience, ignoring other factors. Maybe there were other reasons that played a significant role in increasing audiences. Maybe it was summer, most of the people were enjoying leisure, they had enough time to listen to the radio, or simply they had no other options for recreation. If this were the cases, then increasing call-in advice had nothing to with the increased number of audiences. there is a potential that the increase in call-in advice programs merely coincided with the increase in the audience which was caused originally by some other reasons. In this respect, including call-in advice programs may not help KICK to gain new audiences at all.

Secondly, the argument talks about a national survey but doesn’t provide any additional information. There are no data about how many people were asked, what were the questions or what types of audiences were asked. Perhaps only the audience of call-in advice programs were asked, audiences of other programs were totally ignored. In that case, the people surveyed were not representative of the total audience. So the survey might give a false impression about the popularity of call-in advice programs. If KICK’s manager is depending on such a survey, then his decision about increasing audiences may not help him at all. It may even backfire, causing them to lose their existing audience.

Finally, Maybe WCQP’s success was due to the increase in call-in advice programs. But now the question is, will this approach going to work for KICK as well. Maybe two radio stations are significantly different. Perhaps their location, types of audience they serve, types of programs they broadcast are totally different. Perhaps, most of the audiences of KICK are young teenagers who prefer listening recent music to call-in programs or the audiences like to hear while they are driving, walking, at which time participating in a call-in advice program is not suitable. KICK’s manager's assumption about increasing call-in programs may not hold water if the two stations are different.

KICK’s manager needs to collect more scientific and well-articulated data before making decisions. His current assumptions may be wrong in a number of ways. A more accurate survey, more information about what kind of programs audiences like might help me to make a proper decision to gain more audience.