“We, the four partners of Max Design, have made the company what it is. When we are hired by a client, it is our taste and style that the client is paying for. In the last two years, we have grown significantly and now have project managers handling many of our recent contracts. In my opinion, the work put forth by the teams led by the product managers is not as good as the work put forth when it was just the four of us. At other design firms of a similar size, the principals remain personally involved in all projects. Therefore, from now on, all decisions for all projects, no matter how minute, should be signed off by one of us.”

The following argument is based on numerous unwarranted assumptions regarding the decision of the partners of the Max Design company, who have arrived at a conclusion of taking even the minutest decision of a project, completely by themselves. Taken as whole, these unstated assumptions seriously undermine the validity of the argument. Indeed, if the assumptions fail to be true, then the argument completely falls apart.

Firstly, the argument fails to identify that the scenario existing in the last two years might not perpetuate in the years to come. As the economy follows a cycle, it keeps changing, oscillating between the expansion and contraction phase. The argument mentions that they have grown significantly in the past two years, and the sole reason they attribute to this growth, is to themselves. However, there might be a possibility that at that time the economy was growing, and was partly responsible for the good results achieved by the Max Design company. In the years to come, the growth might not be as expected by them, and the assumption of the company of reaping benefits when they took the entire decision themselves, might fail to get fulfilled. Had the economy be same, even them the argument fails to consider other possibilities like low competition in the market, which might have loomed two years back.

Secondly, the argument also leaves many other unanswered questions. The argument superficially considers the Max Design firm and other similar sized firms, same and presents the conclusion that was being followed at the other firms. It asserts that as the other similar sized companies are personally involved in all the projects, they should follow the same. However, the argument fails to acknowledge that the other firms to which it is comparing might be disparate in terms of other factors like turnover, recognition, i.e. at global/national platform or extent of projects undertaken in a financial year. In the absence of these relevant information, comparing and thus blindly following a similar sized company might prove disastrous to the Max Design company and could shatter its hopes of staying prosperous in the years to come.

Lastly, the argument considers without warrant that they will able to manage all the projects themselves. The argument considers the scenario when they took all the decisions on their projects themselves, to the current state. As they have grown significantly in the past two years, the number of projects in which they are currently enrolled might be much higher than the number two years back. Under such contrasting states, the argument considers that the four partners will take even the minutest decision themselves. This could lead to improper focus and hence poor performance of the company. So, the decision of the company to take decisions on all the projects themselves is totally unjustified.

Because the argument makes several undue assumptions, it fails to make a convincing case. Unless the above-stated assumptions are addressed, the argument remains weakened that the company will grow, if they took even the smallest decision themselves, for all their projects.