We recommend that Grove College preserve its century old tradition of all female education rather than admit men into its programs It is true that a majority of faculty members voted in favor of coeducation arguing that it would encourage more students to

In the argument, the author concludes that all female education will increase the morale of the students and alumnae will be convinced to continue supporting the institute economically. The author comes to this conclusion based on several premises and two surveys carried by students and the alumnae. Although, the authors contention might ultimately prove valid, as it stands now, the author’s argument rests on three unwarranted assumptions which significantly hampers its credibility.

First of all, the author assumes that there is a casual relationship between the all female education and the morale among students, but this might not be the case. Perhaps the inclusion of the coeducation would make much diverse nature in the institute and this will help the students to learn from eachother, from opposite gender and thus increase the morale. In addition, it is possible that coeducation possibly help them developing their thought while studying together. If either of the scenerio proves true, then the author’s contention is significantly weakened.

Moreover, the author presumes, without justification that the serveys are performed scientifically and the intension of the participants of the servey were true. Perhaps the students and the alumnae responded to the survey casually and the survey was not the representation of the true fact. If it is true that the survey was perfomed in non-empirical manner, then the authors contention is hampered greatly.

Finally, the author assumes that the alumnae will keep supporting the college economically but that might not be true. If the college is not capable of enrolling more students in the institute or if the enrolling of the students decreases then the alumnae might not support the institute financially. If this proves to be true, then the authors contention will lose its credibility.

To conclude, the authors central claim might prove true but the author needs to give proper evidence of the alternate to bolster the persuasiveness of his argument. The author might also need to give prove that the surveys was performed scientifically.