We recommend that Grove College preserve its century old tradition of all female education rather than admit men into its programs It is true that a majority of faculty members voted in favor of coeducation arguing that it would encourage more students to

The recommendation made by the president and administrative staff of Grove College to the governing committee presents a view to keep the tradition of all-female education. It says that the committee should ignore the view held by majority of faculty members of admitting men into the college and should favor the students who oppose it. It is in the interest of the college to remain all-female because it will improve the morale amongst students. Moreover, this decision will keep the alumni happy and secure the funds coming from the alumni.

The recommendation however is made in a narrow perspective. The recommendation gives importance to the survey where eighty present of students are in favor of all-female education and ignores the view held by the members of the faculty. It should, however, be noted that students remain in the college for shorter periods of time and it is the faculty members who stay longer in the college. They are more interested in the betterment of the college than the students. The faculty members have more understanding of the college and their suggestions are more practical. It is in the interest of the college as a whole to admit males in its programs. On the other hand, the students view the interest of the college for as long as they are in it. It is not practical to rely on the suggestion of students since it is short-termed and one-sided. It favors only the students and not the college.

The students’ favoring all-female education can be because of many reasons. It is likely that they would not like to have any change in it for the fear of their adjustment in the college. The problems of students can be known only when the matter is talked and they are able to convey their feelings. A survey will not reflect the inside feelings of students. Instead of following their suggestion blindly, it is better to look into the matter and resolve the problems they would have with co-education. By removing the fear of students, the administration committee would make a wise decision and follow the middle path. However, the recommendation does not give any such logical suggestions.

The argument also mentions that more than half of the alumni opposed coeducation. Going by what the alumni wants is not completely wise since they have attended the college in completely different times and it cannot be compared to the present. Views held in the past cannot be implemented to the needs of the present. Moreover, the college should work upon improving the quality of education and keep the alumni convinced of its work to keep supporting it. Quality work by college would generate funds even if they have to take a decision against the alumni.

Lastly, it is not wise to depend upon surveys to make such decisions. Surveys are conducted on a section of the total number of candidates. They may not take into consideration the whole strength of the college, the faculty members or the alumni. In that case, the results of surveys can be extremely misleading. It is possible that the result of the survey is contrary to the actual view held at large that favors coeducation. It would, therefore, be incorrect to form important decisions based on such surveys. In the light of the above discussion, the recommendation does not present a logical and thoughtful statement and the committee should consider other options as well.