While the department of education in the state of Attra recommends that high school students be assigned homework everyday the data from a recent statewide survey of high school math and science teachers give us reason to question the usefulness of daily

In the memo, the author concludes that while the Department of Education in Atta state suggests that the teachers should assign homework to the students every day, the teachers should not assign homework to the students more than twice a week. The writer reaches this conclusion based on the survey in other states, to be named Sanlee and Marlee, and the poor performance of students in Sanlee state, where 86 percent of teachers assign three to five times a week assignments to the students, whereas this percentage is less than 25 percent in Marlee state. Nonetheless, while the conclusion drawn by the writer might hold water, it rests on several unfounded assumptions that, if not substantiated, dramatically weaken the persuasiveness of the argument.

First of all, in the survey, only 'Math' and 'Science' teachers participated, and other teachers in different areas such as history, art, social sciences, and so on were excluded. On the other hand, all these courses are included in the student's cumulative GPA. The other teachers in Marlee might act in contrast to math and science teachers in that state and assign homework to the students on a daily basis, while the opposite scenario might happen in Sanlee state. If this scenario has merit, then the author's assertion that based on a survey that just included math and science teachers, it is better for students to be given assignments less than twice a week is significantly hampered.

Secondly, the author assumes that the grading criteria in these two states are quite similar. Maybe the teachers' grading criteria in Sanlee state are biased in favor of students' final exam scores. In contrast, the instructors in Manlee state pay more attention to assignments and projects that pupils do during the semester, and the students' performance in their final exam does not significantly impact their overall grades. The writer's argument does not hold water if the above is true.

Finally, the author utterly overlooks the performance and level of literacy of the teachers in these two states. The teachers in Marlee state might be more erudite than the teachers in Sanlee state. It is even possible that the techniques that the teachers in Marlee state implement to convey the material to the students are more effective than the techniques that the teachers in Sanlee state utilize. If it is true that the teachers' knowledge or teaching methods have a noticeable impact on students' performance, the credibility of the author's claim decreases substantially.

To recapitulate, it is possible that by assigning less homework to the students, their scores would become better. Nevertheless, as it stands now, the contention relies on three groundless assumptions that render its conclusion unpersuasive at best and specious at worst. Therefore, the author has to provide additional evidence on three fronts: including teachers other than 'Math' and 'Science' in the survey, the difference between the grading criteria in different schools and states, and the effect of teachers' level of literacy or teaching method on students' performance.