Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found

only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed

to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists

discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from

Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have

crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the

so called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument

and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The writer here is making some grave fallacious assumptions, and these assumptions being very critical, the argument made by the writer doesn’t hold good. Also, on the basis of the information used in making the conclusion, the writer’s argument lacks strength and seems implausible.

The argument can be easily debunked as many wrong assumptions, negligence to consider other important aspects are visible in the writer’s thesis. The argument seems parochial and more broader analysis was required before making the said assumption. The writer firsty says that a “single Palean style basket” was found in Lithos. So,finding a single basket doesn’t necessarily mean that the basket was designed by the people in Lithos, maybe it had arrived to Lithos from Palea via some other place. Say, that particular basket might have been traded from Palea to some other distant place. From that distant place, the basket might have been brought to Lithos. Also, there might have existed a trade wherein, large number of Palean baskets were traded in some other major market place. This major market might have been the source for the transport of the Palean baskets to Lithos.

Likewise, the writer says no Palean boat has been found yet but, he fails to mention anything about the navigating capabilities of the Lithos’s residents. Lithos might have had a strong naval structure which might have facilitated trade across the two cities of Palea and Lithos. It must also be argued that if no boat has been found yet doesn’t necessarily mean that the Paleans were not navigators. Maybe their boats might have been destroyed in some calamity or their Naval base might have been at some distant place. This assumption that Paleans didn’t use boats needs more evidence for support.

The writer could have strengthened his argument by providing other crucial information such as whether the Lithos had boats or not. Also, writer fails to mention whether any longer route of transport via some other major centre existed or not. In addition, no consideration is made of the fact that a single basket found cannot mean that the basket was not Palean. The instance of indirect transfer from Palea to a market and from that market to Lithos is not at all considered by the writer.

Therefore, it can be concluded that the writer errs by making many false assumptions which frustrate the argument from being valid. Non-consideration of many other important factors also pulls back the writer’s argument. Thus, the argument made by the writer seems implausible.