Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

In this argument the author is recommending the editor of Balmer Island Gazette to follow the same practice, as there neighbouring town has done in dealing with accidents. In the letter author’s argument asserts that by enforcing the rental companies to reduce the rental charges during summer will help in reducing accident ratio in the town. He also state that by enforcing such law, town council will be able to attain 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents. However, the assumption made by the author is quite vague and is not enough to justify his claim.

On Balmer island moped is the main mode of transport and population in summer increases by 1,00,000 during summer, so it must be an popular vacation destination/spot where people generally come to enjoy and spent their vacations. It is likely understandable that with such an instant increase in population during summers there are pretty much chances that road accidents are likely to increase. But as per the author first assumption that by enforcing a law on rental companies to work on such reduces prices during the peak season time will badly affect the livelihood of the local people and moreover it will also not help in reducing accidents. With such a reduced rate it will encourage more and more people to rent moped and this will not only deteriorate the accidents conditions but will also give rise to traffic problems as well. Instead to providing any relief to present condition it will dampen it even more.

Moreover author has also not stated clearly that the accidents statistics which he is concerned about is only for the summer period or for the whole year. If he is taking annual statistics and wants to reduces the yearly accident ratio then for the remaining year (excluding summer period) council which have to find another alternative to reduce the accidents. So on the whole actions suggested by author are not of much use as it is only focusing on reducing accidents for a small period. He should have highlighted an long term plan to the council for reducing the accidents.

And in the last assumption author is comparing the situation with the neighbouring island and is providing an assurance that, as it worked in Seaville’s town so it should work in Balmer island. But with such small number of details we cannot even evaluate the situation and circumstances that arises in both the towns that are responsible for increased accidents. It can also be the case that Seaville’s town is facing tough completion from its neighbouring towns in attracting tourism and because of this there has been a constant decline in revenue so road accidents have also decreased rapidly. While may not be the condition in Balmer’s Island. There can be many such factors like one more can be the rapid increase in petrol pricing in Seaville’s. This would have forced local people and tourist to reduce the use to transport and thus decreasing the overall accident ratio compared to previous year. Hence, the reasoning provided by the author is not sufficient enough to compare the scenarios of both the towns.

The letter also fails to substantiate the actual accident figures and by how much it should be reduces. The real figures may be really less and that they cannot be further reduced. Author should have also provided the factual data and that has there been any significant increase in accidents in Balmer’s island during the summer period. Same information he should have provided for the Seaville’s town as well before establishing any comparison. Then author should have suggested the necessary steps required to reduce the accidents in Balmer town along with the proof that same action has helped in reducing accidents in another town. So there has been lot of missing gaps left by the author while providing the assumption for the claim.

I will like end by stating that the assumptions provided by the author were insufficient and were lacking a lot in terms of factual data. Moreover the comparison stated by the author was also not enough to support his claim and was not clear enough. Author should have been more specific while raising the concern and then he should have presented his assumption supported with some real world data.