It is commonly accepted that leaders should step down after serving a certain duration of time in order to prevent the rigidity of an organization caused by prolonged reign by one person. Fueling organizations with new insights with novel leaders have been considered virtuous in many field. Nevertheless, there may also be potential side effects of frequently transitioning the leadership, as it may cause confusion among the followers when a group needs stout and sustained leadership to guide a group to a achieve a desired goal.

Of course, especially in fields of politics, we have seen leaders, voracious for power, eventually ending up as vicious dictators who would not step down from their positions. Even though a political leader had good intentions to serve for his people in the first place when he held the power, once they believe that the power they hold is everlasting, they have nothing to fear for. In such cases, they flagrantly seek to embetter themselves, receiving bribes, and ignoring the sacrifices of their people. Korea also faced various dictatorship in its initial stage of democracy during the mid 20th century. The commonality among these presidents were that once they hold of power, they attempted to lengthen their terms by all kinds of means even revising the constitution or assassinating the opposing group's leader when necessary. It took countless student demonstrations and years of protests to eventually erect the foundation of democracy in Korea, limiting the presidency to 5 years.

However, there are major benefits which can be yielded from firm leadership. Often times when leadership oscilates, it may deter the efficacy of a leadership and joint effort. In order to achieve long term goals, it may be necessary for a group of perspicacious leadership branch push forward the plan. After World War II, Japanese LDP, a conservative political group, took hold of power for more 20 years. Throughout these years, the LDP effectively invested on industries and businesses which have the highest potential to revive the devastated Japanese economy. Without such strong leadership and clear focus, Japan might not have been able to escape the poverty and become the top economies of the world.

Moreover, in businesses, it is quite common that a perspicacious CEO leads a firm for quite a time, leading it to the road of success and profitability. Take for example Steve Jobs, who was a leader of Apple, without his unique minds and burgeoning ideas, Apple would not be enjoying the current success. Steve Jobs often pushed forward the ideas he believed in, despite some discords, which turned out to receive avid support of the consumers. Showing his unwavering commitment to propel his company, he held the CEO position for a relatively long duration of time, which granted Apple with lucid direction throughout the times.