1) Some people believe that in order to be effective, political leaders must yield to public opinion and abandon principle for the sake of compromise. Others believe that the most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently committed to particular principles and objectives.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

What are the main characteristics of a great leader? Should the leader be malleable according to the situation of the nation or should he be firm on the ideals and principles? A school of thought argues that a leader should conform to the demands of people and be willing to compromise in order to be effective. While others opine that the most important characteristic of a leader is his steadfastness in his principles when faced with pressure from the general public. I believe that the leader should only heed to public opinion if the said opinion does not go against the principles.

Democracy is the government of the people, by the people and for the people. People vote for their leaders, in the hopes that these leaders, when elected to the office, will make legislation that would help ameliorate their lives. Keeping this in mind, politicians must listen to the voices of the people. This is the key with which they can ensure a peaceful and flourishing nation where the demands of its people are being catered to. If the people feel as if their voices are going unheard, they may grow restive, stage protests and in some extreme cases, take up arms against the government. An example of this would be the Naxalites in India, where the tribesmen felt that the leaders were ignoring them and therefore, to make the leaders listen to their needs, force must be used.

The abovementioned view should only hold if the asks of these people are justified. A leader will be perceived as weak if he or she gives in to unjustified demands of public – weak leaders can rarely be effective. Often times, people may make demands that go against human ideals and objectives. For instance, in Pakistan, Khadim Rizvi amassed thousands of people – mostly uneducated – and staged a protest in the capital, asking that the prime minister Imran Khan step down from his office. His reason was that the premier made an unjust decision by letting Asia, who was accused of blasphemy, go free. The protestors indicted her demanded that she be dealt with according to the law, even though the Supreme Court had exonerated her. In such a situation, if the premier yielded to the demands of Rizvi and his followers, he would commit a great injustice to Asia and the greater humanity in general. Moreover, this would set precedent for more people in the future to make such unjustified demands from the governments.

Great leaders bring about changes in the law that would improve the lives of their countrymen. Often, these changes are inspired by existing injustice and inequality in the system. These leaders will listen to the complaints of the people, deliberate and decide on what course of action to take. For example, Martin Luther King Jr. and John F. Kennedy saw the racial injustice committed against the African-American people and supported the Civil Rights movement – a movement which shaped the cultural fabric of the USA into the way it is now. These leaders listened to the cries of the African Americans. However, at the same time, some Southerners, mainly Americans of Caucasian descent, were openly opposed to the idea of racial equality. These people made the opposite demands of the government. Now, whose voice should the government have listened to? The African Americans who were being discriminated against, or the Caucasian Americans who carried out this discrimination? Only a leader who sticks to human ideals would be able to make the best decision.

In conclusion, an effective and excellent leader should listen to the views of the people in all matters, but exercise sound judgement when deciding whether it is justified to agree to their asks or not.