2. A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

A national curriculum acts a crucial role in making united education across the nation that makes it necessary to follow such a centralized national syllabus. This is because unity for all of a nation’s students makes grounds for planners, students, and the whole society to accomplish well. However, planners should assign some space for the states separately to instill a state identity in each person through public teaching.

To begin with, a national curriculum is needed because of preserving the integrity of the education all around a nation. Such an integrity further guarantees both the educational and economic future of students. Having learned a standard national curriculum, right after high school, students attain certifications allowing them to continue their education in whatever state they find proper. Otherwise, every state’s university might recommend a different educational resume. Then, with every inconsistency, students might be required to start over some units in order to apply to other state’s universities.

Furthermore, Colleges and universities are much more ready to direct the education of those with the same standard curriculum vitae. Individuals enter universities with nearly the same degree of experience and knowledge. No one lags behind so much to be pressed by not being ready for heavy concepts of courses, nor is she/he so ahead that the learning process becomes boring for that individual.

By the economic perspective, we can see that such a syllabus indiscriminately provides opportunity for all the students of a country to compete with other states’ students for jobs. Without such a syllabus, employers might be freer to discriminate between those who are native and those who are not by appealing to differences in the applier’s educational resume.

However, some sort of flexibility also is needed not to put away the role of states in their own educational plan. It is due to public education that students learn about their own state to shape their provincial identity. A nation prospers in which each state flies high altogether. This happens when people feel belonging to their state via their state identity, and try to make contributions to their state. Consider the Iranian curriculum which excludes any state history in it. Consider the north of Iran, Mazandaran. It is not possible yet to integrate the history of Mazandaran into the public knowledge through the education. Consequently,the provincial identity is waning in Mazandaran, since the educational system has not taken the need of provincial identity into account.

In short, as discussed in the paragraphs, the body of education needs to be nationally standardized. A national curriculum undeniably carries out essential roles required for the integrity of education throughout a nation. Moreover, planners can better make programs for students in a same level of knowledge and experience and students can find jobs more indiscriminately in the other states. Nevertheless, some degree of flexibility is needed to integrate state syllabus to educational curriculum to support the state identity.