3. Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade 劝阻 students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to

address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The speaker asserts that the educational institutions should discourage the students to choose the areas that they are less likely to success. Admittedly, it is useful and practical for certain students. Yet, its disadvantages are far greater than its function, so I disagree with this statement.

It is true that some unrealistic pursuits should be dissuaded cause there is only little chance for the students to be successful. For instance, if a student, whose voice is like caterwauling, wants to be a popular singer and make a living on it, what suggestion would you give? Probably not encouraging him or her. Or, a student, with poor math skills, have a strong desire to pursue actuary as his or her profession. It is highly unlikely that they will succeed in these areas which they have no talents at all, so it is level-headed to dissuade these students from engaging in relevant business.

Even though it is practical to prevent students from doing what they are not good at, it is hard for any schools to predict which carriers or areas would be profiting or successful after the students’ graduating. Positions in civil engineering was greatly in short twenty years ago, while nowadays, its job market is almost satiated. On the contrary, some majors, who were not arresting at the time, develop very fast and offer tons of opportunities for young people. Computer science is just the example for it. Not many people were interested in it, or have a positive view on it. However, this area turns to one of the most promising occupations. Given that, it is extremely difficult for an educational institution to foretell the future of an industry accurately in order to prevent students from doing unlikely successful pursuits.

Moreover, even the school could predict the tendency in the future, students may not persist in it without interests. It is common that school or parents choose a major, which they believe will be profiting, for the student. Yet, not all of them will stay in these areas. For example, one student in my class likes painting from he was little, but schools and parents pushed him to major in pre-law in college. He turned out dropping out of the school. It is obvious that if the students are forced to learn what they are not interested, even it may bring high wage, it is of great possibilities that they may give up during college.

Consequently, I disagree with this statement because it may be useful for certain cases, but it is hard for schools to predict which area will be promising, and unwarranted that students will learn and participate in what they dislike for the rest of their life.