49. Claim: We can usually learn much more from people whose views we share than from those whose views contradict our own.Reason: Disagreement can cause stress and inhibit learning.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or dis

In our day to day interactions, we come across several people who we both agree and disagree with. Some have their views perfectly in line with our own. Some think differently. While meeting people with the same set of beliefs as ours reinforces our sense of affirmation, people who possess views different from our own come with their own merit. I believe that people with contradictory views are to be heard and their opinions to be considered in our to enhance our own learning.

Different people have different reasons backing their views and beliefs. If we restrict ourselves to views that comply with our own beliefs, we are losing out on what is shaping the thought process of people who believe otherwise. Looking at an issue from different angles not only enables us to apply reasoning, it also helps us develop our critical thinking skills. Inculcation of good reasoning and critical thinking abilities would shape individuals into well rounded personalities, who would be able to put these tools into their everyday use.

Along with the critical skills discussed above, the opportunity of garnering new knowledge is equally lucrative. Individuals believing otherwise may have their beliefs entrenched in facts, figures, narratives, or events that corroborates their views. Interacting with them would present us with an opportunity to access the knowledge and be more enlightened. The knowledge would can play a huge role in not just validating our own views, but amending it with what is more just or ethical.

In contradiction, people who possess the same belief as ours is not serving any intellectual purpose. They would give us a sense of affirmation on the beliefs we currently hold, and perhaps a discussion pointer to talk on. While the opportunity to discuss events, reasons and narratives exist, it can be greatly furthered if the people who belief are included.

To sum up, it can be said that disagreement is a great source of mustering intellectual prowess. It develops in us skills that adorns our personality as well as make us more knowledgeable. Taking counter-views in consideration along with doing course correction for us would also make us more open minded.