5. Competition for high grades seriously limits the quality of learning at all levels of education.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The true purpose of education is to help an individual learn more about the things necessary for his survival. Earlier, people used to teach their kids about hunting and the natural herbs which could cure illnesses. As the society matured, specializations came into view and so did the grading systems. As the population increased, more and more individuals started studying the same set of subjects and the governments came up with a system to rank the students according to their acumen. This inhibited learning as the education system solely revolved around getting good grades. Therefore, I agree with the author’s claim to some extent.

In order to achieve more, the parents and the teachers put pressure on the kids to perform better, as a result of which the child loses interest in learning new things and only focus on grade centric study. This undermines the purpose of education, as in a real life scenario mugging up the subjects doesn’t help you. One needs to be able to apply those concepts in the actual world for which an in depth understanding is necessary. Be it engineering or medical science or even humanities, it is only possible to enjoy the subjects if you are not anxious about the grades and the result.

On the other hand, the grading system cannot be rendered completely useless, as in some cases putting pressure can help a child perform exponentially better. It helps a child understand the concepts in more depth and at a faster speed. Competing for awards and grades can push a student to an extent that he wasn’t capable of before. But the above statement does not state a general scenario since in most cases it works in the opposite direction. Competing for marks takes the fun out of learning and limits the quality of education as the students are only concerned about knowing what is in their curriculum and nothing beyond that.

In my opinion, if one is stress free, the grasping power and the interest in learning increases immensely, and that can help you in later life as you will be able to recall it. Therefore, there is a need to reduce the focus on grades and marks and divert attention to learning. Practically, the grading system cannot be scraped but that should be treated as the second priority. It is very important to appreciate every single child and not let him lose confidence based on the grading system. Only then will education and learning help him in the long run.