59. Scientists and other researchers should focus their research on areas that are likely to benefit the greatest number of people.

The author claims that scientists and researchers should be dedicated to conducting researches that create benefits for many people as possible. While it may be true that profitable scientific researches play a remarkable role for the betterment of society, ones that seem trivial on the surface can also take an important role in making advances in some aspects of society.

Admittedly, it seems plausible that scientists and researchers should consider the practical value of their work. Human beings have been able to make a significant progress in their quality of lifestyles through scientific researches that are applicable to everyday products that people frequently use. For example, electrical lightbulb that Thomas Edison invented in the past has enabled people to efficiently lit up their surroundings and brought tremendous changes in industry and our everyday life. Inventions like electrical lightbulb permeate almost every aspect of our life that if it were not for the pragmatical researches that have been made throughout the history, we would not be able to lead such a convenient life as we do today. Successful practical researches show that it is important for scientists and researchers to benefit the society they belong to focusing on extensively applicable researches.

However, researchers should also be encouraged to work on solving problems that might not be applicable to wide range of people in the world. For instance, some researchers strive to find treatments for incurable diseases such as AIDS, which only few people in the world suffer from. From a monetary point of view, these works do not worth much. However, preservation of humanistic values are what people around the world commonly perceive as one of the important characteristics that a healthy society should have. Researchers who work out of humanitarianism to help minorities are true heroes that makes the world a better place. In this sense, the researches targeted to minorities but of low practical value are also essential.

Furthermore, in some cases, researches that seemed trivial at the beginning later turned out to be of great practical importance. For example, in 2019, 3 scientists were awarded the Nobel Prize for doing researches suggesting the basic principles of lithium-ion battery operation. Their work were made 40 years ago from now, and their researches seemed unfeasible at the time they were published. Through several years of additional academic efforts by the 3 scientists to realize their initial theory, lithium-ion is now ruling the battery industry. Considering that seemingly insignificant work at first can later become what can change the world, scientists should not be discouraged to do researches that do not seem to benefit many people.

In summary, the author’s opinion that scientists and researchers should be devoted to making researches that maximize the benefits of many people is rational to some extent. As discussed, however, it is necessary for the world to encourage researchers to put effort on seemingly theoretical works that might be meaningful in terms of humanitarianism or potentially have wide practical use in the future.