In this age of intensive media coverage, it is no longer possible for a society to regard any living man or woman as a hero.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The best opposite argument to the statement that we have heroes. It does not depend on media coverage. It is human’s nature. We want to have someone to admire and someone to condemn. It is like positive and negative sides between which we determine ourselves. But what depends on media coverage it is how fast we change our preferences. Because nowadays public heroes may change relatively fast. It happens because we require from hero to be flawless. But the fact that modern media allows to look after hero almost every minute gives to us opportunity to know about weak sides of a hero, which is logical because hero is a human too. But we think that hero should be perfect all the time. This misunderstanding leads to change heroes more than earlier. So I may say that I disagree with author that we cannot regard heroes in age of intensive media coverage, but I do not deny a fact that media can determine who heroes are.

There are stories about great entrepreneurs like Bill Gates and Steve Jobs who are heroes of nowadays. I and many others people admire them because the challenged the standard way of live and succeeded. They are paragons of creative and futuristic way of thinking. And due to media we know history about their live, obstacles, and how they coped with troubles. There are many autobiography movies and books which allow to know more about heroes. Actually it is media’s merit why we know biography of these entrepreneurs so good.

Moreover media helps to know about heroes among ordinary people even if sometimes this information spreads only inside state. For example, in my hometown republic, Bashkortostan, we all know about Paralympic Game’s winner Irek Zaripov. Parents use his history like an epitome of hard working person. But also due to state media we know about elder women in small village who as result of health life style had already celebrated her hundredth birthday. And also about having-many-child family or about prodigy child singer and more.

But also media can influence on people’s preferences. It is best described in Ayn Rand’s novel called “Fountainhead”. Main newspaper agency used their power and authority to promote particular architecture and at the same time to disgrace another. And people who red news believed in that without doubts. People was not confused even when course of news agency had changed couple times in a week.

According to all above I may say that media actually helps us to know heroes of our time. But we should be objective when assess hero with his both strong and weak sides. If we don’t make high expectations from our hero, we would not suffer a lot in case he does not conform this expectations.