An ailing patient should have his/her doctor's record of treating similarly afflicted patients. Through gaining such access the ailing patient may better determine whether the doctor is competent to treat the medical condition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. Describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

I agree to some extent the fact that a patient should have easy access to the record of doctor's success in treating the cases similar to that of the patient's.

With ever increasing pernicious and detrimental diseases, the demand for doctors is increasing at a high rate. Amidst the demand, there are lots of examples from the history to the contemporary world in which the doctor's profession is prone to corruption because of the avarice for money after becoming a doctor. The notorious corruption in the India's history that has ever seen 'Vyapam', which is an entrance exam for graduation in Medicine. There were some people who invoked and bribed test invigilators; the test giver simply writes fills the personal details mandatory and then would submit to the invigilator who would then fill the answers. The ethical values in this contemporary world have come down to such standards where money is ruling every aspect of this modern civilizations.

This instance provides an insight into the level of corruption prevailing now, which ultimately is vulnerable to handing over patients to a doctor who doesn't have any knowledge or right to treat. A doctor who had genuinely been industrious and meticulously gained all the practical experience would definitely become a far better successful than those who entered the profession by means of corruption. Hence, a record of doctor's success in treating cases similar to his condition would provide an insight to the successive patients undergoing treatment under the same doctor.

It would be unwise to neglect the fact that there might be situations where the doctor may be fledgling and gaining experience with each case and a number of cases he encountered and in how many were he successful, would not sufficient to comment. Also, the patient might not have enough knowledge to get the full picture of a report or the medical terms involved in it, so it would be unwise to deny a treatment on superficial understanding.

Hence accessing the doctor's record might be good under some circumstances, but cannot rely completely on it.