All the college and university students would benefit from spending at least one semester studying in foreign country.

I agree to the assertion that studying in a foreign country for one semester would help in overall development of the students. Studying in different college and different university for one semester can be helpul to students.

By spending one semester in foreign country, the student will get exposure to what different things are happening around the world. This is highly beneficial to a student. Students from Third World and Second World countries can go to countries which are more developed than their country and know how the people are or how they work in the developed country. This may change the thinking of the student which may even lead to development on their nation. On the contrary, the students from the developed countries can go to countries which are less developed and by doing so they will value the resources which they have in their college or country. Overall doing one semester in any foreign country would help student to know about some other country and get to know new people.

There are also some other advantages of this scheme apart from knowing other countries. Learning how to work collaboratively is crucial for students. The students will not only learn how to work cooperatively with people from different countries but also how to blend with different cultures. Spending a whole semester will all new people gives the student opportunity to increase contacts and make new friends. To execute this operation the colleges/universities can have student exchange programs or tie-up with certain foreign universities so that students can conveniently find a college for one semester. Also travelling and going to new place makes student happy.

However, there are many obstacles which the colleges/universities need to look upon. The problem which a student might face while studying one semester abroad is course synchronization which means that although having same major, the subjects taught at other university might be different because different colleges/universities have different courses at different time. This might be a major inconvenience faced by the student. Other problem is if every student go abroad and many students come to one college, there might be chances of mismanagement. On the students’ side we have to see in financial perspective of the student whether the student can bare the expense of travelling and other expenses for one semester.

This idea has advantages and disadvantages but the advantages outweigh the disadvantages. Colleges/Universities should find some college/university to collaborate which will be convenient for students as well as the university themselves and it could solve problems. Overall this scheme is beneficial to a student.