All parents should be required to volunteer time to their children s schools Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take In developing and sup

he idea that all parents ought to be required to volunteer in the activities of their children's school seems compelling on the surface, which is based on the belief that parents should be responsible for their offsprings. However, upon further analysis regarding to the education and society, we will find that the premise of this claim is not sound and the idea of education should not be accepted.

People who advocate that it is the obligation of all the parents to be involved in their children's school may hold a common sense about the parents that they should be gracious, dedicated and responsible for their children. They believe that parents are responsible for the childrens' life and help the youngsters form the values of the life and the world. Since parents should be engaged in various aspects of the children's daily life, the school time should not be shadowed and occluded under the parents' eyes. This image of parents is prevailing and shared by diverse culture, which also help us build the ethical basis upon which some laws regarding childrens are built to give the parents the responsibiliy to participate in the education and punish those who dismiss their children's life and even abuse their children.

However, the claim is based on an assumption that all walks of parents are homogenous and have the same or at least approximate ability to join in the activities of their children's school. De facto, in a school, parents are different, who are always from different classes, occupations and even hierarchies. Requiring all the parents to be voluntary will be unfair to those from the working class, but benefits the wealthy family where parents have more leisure and capability of accompanying the children in the school. Based on this societal facts, if we urge all the parents to engage in the school life of the children, the discrepancy between different families will be directly shown on all the children. Students will see that among their class, some parents are busy, tired and trapped into their daily work, whereas some are not and even appear energetic in the after-class activities. This phenomenon will hurt our belief that the school and the education should be a place where children are treated equally and not pliable to the negative influence applied by the unfair society.

Furthermore, the modern research on the family also challenge the idea that parents are naturally good at educating their children. The concept of parent is not always a icon of love or a warm leader in our life, but sometimes a sign of power in modern philosophy. For students, school should be a open and large plain where they are librated from their personal family. In the school, children can study, socialise and entertain with their classmates and peer students without the supervision of their parents. If we consider the school education as a free place where students can develop themselves without restrictions from their natrual parents, we should not accept the idea that parents should be voluntary in the school.

To sum up, we have to admit that in some culture or society, a dedicated and responsible leader in the family, namly a paragon, is a classic and traditional kind of imagination for the parents. Based on this idea some people might support the voluntory responsibility of parents into their childrens' school life. However upon further analysis into the society, rethinking our belief regarding school education, we will find that the claim is not sound and should not be accepted.