All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

There is no doubt that companies should spend more time listening to their own employees for a better work environment and efficiency. But employees themselves may be motivated by their self interest instead of company interest. Owing to the human nature, employees might advice company to work for employee benefit aggressively at the cost of company benefit which is why it may not always be in the interest of the company to solely rely on its employees' feedback to improve its operational efficiency.

Here comes the role of outside consultants. They are not the beneficiaries of the usual company perks and work culture. This makes them unbiased towards the employee welfare and allows them to focus on the company's performance as a whole. The suggestions made by the outside consultants are purely motivated by the commissions they earn as per the company performance, hence it is in their interest to better advice company on operational matters that improve its efficiency.

Having said that, it is imperative that company should maintain a balance in listening to its employees and the outside consultants. Not listening to the former may result in a poor work environment and thus lower employee performances while not getting advised by the later may cause ignorance about its state of business efficacy. A company must have an equilibrium between both feedback channels to achieve optimal productivity.

With these arguments, I beg to differ from the given statement which renders the consultants unnecessary. But of course, I support the argument that companies should spend more time listening to their employees.