Although innovations such as video, computers, and the Internet seem to offer schools improved methods for instructing students, these technologies all too often distract from real learning.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agr

What is real learning? Real learning consists of three parts of active participation: gathering useful information, memorizing knowledge, and perhaps most importantly, applying knowledge in reality. The author claims that technology innovations offer schools improved methods for studying, but they distract students from real learning. In some cases, technology innovations such as the internet and mobile phone interrupt students’ concentration during studying. In most cases, technology innovations advance our learning process and optimize studying efficiency.

I’ll first discuss how video can help students expand their interest in the study. Then, I’ll explore how students can be benefited from accessing the internet. I then will present how some innovations like social media can potentially distract students from concentrating. Then finally, I will compare the pros and cons of having technology innovations involved in the study process.

Video is often a teaching material substance for textbook. Learning from the book, students need to actively gather information from the words. Video provides a passive learning experience for students. Another advantage video has for learning is that students can learn visually and have a better understanding of complicated subjects. For example, some students might not be interested in history because they are not used to read long-form literature. A video documentary can help them quickly understand major historical events by presenting illustrations instead of wordy descriptions.

The internet, as one of the most significant innovations in the past century, has an indispensable impact on learning nowadays. The internet allows students to gain desired information online without limitations. The internet also provides more flexibilities for the student to customize their study styles. For advanced students, they can access the internet to search for more challenging practices to expand their intelligence. For students who have learning curves, they can access the internet for multimedia tutorials to enhance their fundamental knowledge by changing their study methods.

However, technology innovation comes with some vices that affect studying in negative ways. With the prevalence of social media, it becomes harder for the younger generation to concentrate on studying. Social media and mobile phone keep sending reminders to students and remind them to post new status. This will cause the student to not be able to concentrate on one subject for a long time. In addition to that, spending too much time on technology will lead to a decreased time on social events. Learning happens through communications with peers, and sometimes, communications generate new ideas and knowledge. If students spend all their time learning knowledge online, they will lose the ability to communicate and learn in real-life occasions.

In conclusion, technology innovations have some side effects that cause distractions during studying, but we cannot abandon to adopt technology innovations as tools for study. The most important thing is how we implement innovations during the study process in positive ways. Besides learning knowledge, students should also learn how to use all kinds of tool to maximize their study outcome.