Although sound moral judgment is an important characteristic of an effective leader, it is not as important as a leader’s ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers.

It is not too exaggerated to say that a leader with great leadership is the key to success for an organization, and when it comes to great leadership, sound moral judgement should always come first. An effective leader should always keep a solid moral judgement in mind when making every decision, because that is the only way to make sure an organization to not only stand out from competitors but also stand still over time.

Moral judgment is essential to an organization for it can protect the organization from deviating from the legal and moral route to success. It is not difficult to find intelligent staffs and leaders to demonstrate their abilities; however, if these staffs and leaders are lacking of sound moral judgement, it will be very risky when they are encountering dilemmas about the money moral maze. This kind of cases is not unfamiliar in financial industry showing that many smart staffs and leaders are caring more about making as much as money they can than doing the right things aligned with moral judgement, and the most famous case is 2008 financial crisis, which all started from some smart opportunists selling ill-quality mortgages loan to innocent clients in order to make money without moral judgement. Although the loan industry once reached the peak, it finally proved that a move without moral judgment will never be granted a steady success.

Moreover, leaders are expecting to be the most powerful and influential people in a group, so it's even more important for them to always bear moral judgement in mind. In that way, leaders can make the right decision, make positive influence to staffs, and lead the organization to the right track. When bringing a steady growth to an organization with their morality and abilities, leaders can then earn and maintain the respect of his or her peers naturally. Therefore, we can say that sound moral judgement is the base for an effective leader to build up his or her legacy. Only with the moral judgement can they start their journey to a successful leaders.

In conclusion, sound moral judgement is the basic requirement for a great leader, so it should always come first when speaking of the most important characteristic of an effective leader. Their success with morality will naturally help them earn the respect of his or her peers.